April 15, 2021

The House of Styx - The House of Styx #1

Derek Künsken
science fiction

The House of Styx

The first in a ground breaking, action-packed and exciting new science fiction series from the best-selling author of The Quantum Magician.

Life can exist anywhere. And anywhere there is life, there is home.

In the swirling clouds of Venus, the families of la colonie live on floating plant-like trawlers, salvaging what they can in the fierce acid rain and crackling storms. Outside is dangerous, but humankind’s hold on the planet is fragile and they spend most of their days simply surviving.

But Venus carries its own secrets, too. In the depths, there is a wind that shouldn’t exist.

And the House of Styx wants to harness it.

April 15, 2021

Way of the Argosi - Spellslinger

Sebastien de Castell
fantasy, young adult

Way of the Argosi

THE ALCHEMIST meets THE THREE MUSKETEERS - with card tricks. A brilliant origin story of adventure, wit and philosophy to enrapture devotees as well as newcomers to the SPELLSLINGER series.

Ferius Parfax has a simple plan: kill every last inhabitant of the spell-gifted nation that destroyed her people, starting with the man who murdered her parents. Killing mages is a difficult and dangerous business, of course, but when she meets the inimitable and extraordinary Durrall Brown she discovers that physical strength is not the only way to defeat evil of all kinds.

So Ferius undertakes to study the ways of the Argosi: the loosely-knit tribe of tricksters known for getting the better of even the most powerful of spellcasters. But the Argosi have a price for their teachings, and by the time Ferius learns what it is, it may be too late.

Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

April 15, 2021

Another Time, Another Place - The Chronicles of St. Mary's #12

Jodi Taylor
science fiction

Another Time, Another Place

The twelfth book in the bestselling Chronicles of St Mary's series. If you love Jasper Fforde, Ben Aaronovitch or Doctor Who, you won't be able to resist Jodi Taylor.

At long last it's all over. Job done. Max has her life back and everything is set for the traditional happy ending. Except, this is St Mary's and if something can go wrong it will.

Disaster is piled upon catastrophe. A new Head of Security. A new Director of St Mary's. Historians lost in time. And Max dishonourably discharged.

Jobless and homeless, she receives an offer she cannot refuse and suddenly finds herself in another time and another place. Just a way to pass the weeks until she can reunite with Leon - or so she thinks. Because events are on the move and, as usual, St Mary's is at the centre of the storm.

April 13, 2021

Breath by Breath - Step by Step #3

Morgan Llywelyn
science fiction, thriller

Breath by Breath

Breath by Breath is the explosive conclusion to the near-future, science fiction thriller trilogy Step by Step from the bestselling author Morgan Llywelyn and follows the events of Drop by Drop and Inch by Inch.

Morgan Llywelyn concludes her near-future, apocalyptic thriller trilogy with her signature depth and intimacy of character. In Breath by Breath, book three in the trilogy, the residents of Sycamore River have weathered the Change and the nuclear war it provoked. They emerge to try to build a life from the shattered remains of their town.

But for some, the very air has become toxic.

The people of Sycamore River have to survived the unthinkable. Can they build something new from the ashes?

Llywelyn blends her signature character-driven portrait of small-town life with the appeal of William Fortschen's One Second After.

April 13, 2021

A Crown So Cursed - The Nightmare-Verse #3

L. L. McKinney
fantasy, young adult, urban fantasy

A Crown So Cursed

In A Crown So Cursed, the third book in L.L. McKinney's Nightmare-Verse series, Alice is called to save Wonderland from itself.

Alice is doing her best to recover from her last boss battle, but members of her crew start having these... dreams. And they’re all the same dream: visions of a dark past ― and an even darker future. It seems the evil in Wonderland may not be as defeated as they’d hoped.

When word spreads of an encroaching army of Nightmares unlike any ever seen, Alice finds she may have to step between the coming darkness and the mortal world once more. But this time is different. This time, the monsters aren’t waiting for her on the other side of the Veil.

They're in her own back yard.

News
All news
Fandom
Reviews
Risingshadow
Articles
News
Interviews
Others
Guest Post
April 18, 2021
Guest post by Andy Oppenheimer
Guest post by Andy Oppenheimer The author: Andy Oppenheimer AIExpE MIABTI I’m Andy Oppenheimer, a British consultant, author and editor specialising in defence and counter-terrorism. This work has greatly influenced my first venture into writing...
April 08, 2021
Q&A with Oliver Langmead
Risingshadow has an opportunity to feature a Q&A with Oliver Langmead. This Q&A is part of the Birds of Paradise blog tour. About Oliver Langmead: Oliver K. Langmead is an author and poet based in Glasgow. His long-form poem, Dark Star, featured in...
April 03, 2021
Q&A with Eric Leland
Risingshadow has an opportunity to feature a Q&A with Eric Leland, who is the author of Inhuman . About Eric Leland: Eric Leland grew up in Massena, NY and entered Army basic training upon high school graduation. He was an MP in the Army for six...
Recent Topics
Articles & Reviews
April 18, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Articles & Reviews
April 14, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Literature Discussion
April 12, 2021
2 topics | Darkki
Entertainment Discussion
April 10, 2021
1 topic | Darkki
Articles & Reviews
April 08, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Articles & Reviews
April 06, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Literature Discussion
April 05, 2021
1 topic | Darkki
Literature Discussion
April 05, 2021
2 topics | Darkki
Articles & Reviews
March 28, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Literature Discussion
March 27, 2021
1 topic | Jason Bishop