June 17, 2021

The Colours of Death - The Colours of Death #1

Patricia Marques
fantasy, thriller

The Colours of Death

The Murder
In the Gare do Oriente, a body sits, slumped, in a stationary train. A high-profile man appears to have died by throwing himself repeatedly against the glass. But according to witnesses, he may not have done this of his own accord.

The City
Lisbon 2021. A small percentage of the population are diagnosed as Gifted. Along with the power comes stigma and suspicion.

The Detective
In a prejudiced city, Gifted Inspector Isabel Reis is hiding her own secrets while putting her life on the line to stop an ingenious killer.

A violent and mysterious crime. Suspected Gifted involvement. A city baying for blood. And a killer who has only just begun...

June 15, 2021

The World Gives Way

Marissa Levien
science fiction

The World Gives Way

In a near-future world on the brink of collapse, a young woman born into servitude must seize her own freedom in this glittering debut with a brilliant twist - perfect for fans of Station Eleven, Karen Thompson Walker, and Naomi Alderman.

In fifty years, Myrra will be free.

Until then, she's a contract worker. Ever since she was five, her life and labor have belonged to the highest bidder on her contract - butchers, laundries, and now the powerful, secretive Carlyles.

But when one night finds the Carlyles dead, Myrra is suddenly free a lot sooner than she anticipated - and at a cost she never could have imagined. Burdened with the Carlyles' orphaned daughter and the terrible secret they died to escape, she runs. With time running out, Myrra must come face to face with the truth about her world - and embrace what's left before it's too late.

A sweeping novel with a darkly glimmering heart, The World Gives Way is an unforgettable portrait of a world in freefall, and the fierce drive to live even at the end of it all.

June 15, 2021

The Ice Lion

Kathleen O'Neal Gear
science fiction

The Ice Lion

This cli-fi novel from a notable archaeologist and anthropologist explores a frozen future where archaic species struggle to survive an apocalyptic Ice Age

One thousand years in the future, the zyme, a thick blanket of luminous green slime, covers the oceans. Glaciers three-miles-high rise over the continents. The old stories say that when the Jemen, godlike beings from the past, realized their efforts to halt global warming had gone terribly wrong, they made a desperate gamble to save life on earth and recreated species that had survived the worst of the earth's Ice Ages.

Sixteen-summers-old Lynx and his best friend Quiller are members of the Sealion People — archaic humans known as Denisovans. They live in a world growing colder, a world filled with monstrous predators that hunt them for food. When they flee to a new land, they meet a strange old man who impossibly seems to be the last of the Jemen. He tells Lynx the only way he can save his world is by sacrificing himself to the last true god, a quantum computer named Quancee.

June 15, 2021

Boundless - The Lost Fleet: Outlands #1

Jack Campbell
science fiction, military science fiction

Boundless

Admiral John "Black Jack" Geary may have saved the Alliance only to destroy it, in this thrilling and eagerly awaited continuation of the New York Times bestselling series.

Geary believed in the Alliance. Even when he uncovered overwhelming evidence that the highest echelons of the government and fleet command were involved in secret programs and prison camps, he believed it was worth saving. And that his duty was to see that justice was served even though some factions feared that revealing the truth would cause the Alliance to crumble.

But after narrowly surviving two assassination attempts when he brings evidence of the misdeeds to the capital star system, Geary realizes that some have decided the easiest way to make the Alliance's problems go away is to get rid of him. He finds himself ordered to undertake a perilous new mission outside of the reaches of human-occupied space while the Senate clashes over the evidence.

Geary's warships must escort a diplomatic and scientific mission across the dangerous, disintegrating remnants of the Syndicate Worlds empire. But even if he can make it to Midway Star System, the gateway to alien-controlled space, Geary will face former Syndicate officials who have rebelled and regard the Alliance with deep suspicion. And that will be the easy part...

June 15, 2021

Inside Man - Prosper's Demon #2

K. J. Parker
fantasy

Inside Man

A novella.

"The Good Place" meets "Good Omens": a delightfully dark follow-up to the critically acclaimed Prosper's Demon

K. J. Parker returns to the amoral world of Prosper’s Demon with a wry, sardonic novella that flips the eternal, rule-governed battle between men and demons on its head.

An anonymous representative of the Devil, once a high-ranking Duke of Hell and now a committed underachiever, has spent the last forever of an eternity leading a perfectly tedious existence distracting monks from their liturgical devotions. It’s interminable, but he prefers it that way, now that he’s been officially designated by Downstairs as “fragile.” No, he won’t elaborate.

All that changes when he finds himself ensnared, along with a sadistic exorcist, in a labyrinthine plot to subvert the very nature of Good and Evil. In such a circumstance, sympathy for the Devil is practically inevitable.

News
All news
Fandom
Reviews
Risingshadow
Articles
News
Interviews
Others
Guest Post
June 13, 2021
Q&A with author Rick Wilber
Risingshadow has an opportunity to feature a Q&A with author Rick Wilber. About Rick Wilber: Rick Wilber’s Alien Morning (Tor, 2016) was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science novel of the year. Alien Day is the sequel...
June 05, 2021
An interview with Tej Turner about Bloodsworn
Risingshadow has had an opportunity to interview Tej Turner about his new fantasy book, Bloodsworn . BIO Tej Turner is a writer of fantasy and science fiction. His debut novel The Janus Cycle was published by Elsewhen Press in 2015 and its sequel...
June 03, 2021
Review: The Book of Yig: Revelations of the Serpent: A Cthulhu Mythos Anthology (edited by David Hambling and Peter Rawlik)
The Book of Yig: Revelations of the Serpent: A Cthulhu Mythos Antholog y (edited by David Hambling and Peter Rawlik) was published by Macabre Ink (an imprint of Crossroad Press ) in April 2021. About The Book of Yig: Revelations of the Serpent: A...
Recent Topics
Press Releases
June 16, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Literature Discussion
June 15, 2021
5 topics | Darkki
Literature Discussion
June 14, 2021
1 topic | Darkki
Articles & Reviews
June 13, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Literature Discussion
June 11, 2021
1 topic | Darkki
Entertainment Discussion
June 11, 2021
1 topic | Darkki
Literature Discussion
June 07, 2021
3 topics | Jim Miner
Articles & Reviews
June 05, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Articles & Reviews
May 23, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee