Risingshadow has had the honour of interviewing Alistair Cross.

Since his first publication with Damnation Books in 2012, Alistair has authored the successful serial novel, The Ghosts of Ravencrest, as well as the Amazon Best Seller, The Cliffhouse Haunting with international bestselling author, Tamara Thorne.

Together, they host the popular Horror, Urban Fantasy, and Paranormal themed radio show, Thorne & Cross Haunted Nights LIVE!, which has included such guests as Chelsea Quinn Yarbro of the Saint-Germain vampire series, Charlaine Harris of the Southern Vampire Mysteries and basis of the HBO series, True Blood, Jeff Lindsay, author of the Dexter novels that inspired the hit television series, Jay Bonansinga of the Walking Dead series, Laurell K. Hamilton of the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter novels, and New York Times bestsellers Christopher Rice, Jonathan Maberry, and Christopher Moore.

Author Links

Website: alistaircross.com
Twitter: @crossalistair
Blog: alistaircross.wordpress.com/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/AlistairCoss
Facebook Author Page: www.facebook.com/crossalistair
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/jsascribes
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Alistair-Cross/e/B00N446AZS/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1417836165&sr=1-2
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/alistaircross/

AN INTERVIEW WITH ALISTAIR CROSS

- Could you tell us something about yourself in your own words?

I was born in the wagon of a travelin' show, my mama used to dance for the money they'd throw ... well, not exactly, but I have known enough gypsies, tramps, and thieves to know I didn't want to be a dancer on the road. So writing was the next logical choice. Somehow.

- How did you become interested in speculative fiction and paranormal fiction?

I was born interested. My best guess is that due to my unquiet, quickly-bored mind, the otherworldly and the fantastical appealed because it was so much more stimulating than the cold, hard facts of life. But that's just a guess. Otherwise, I blame faulty DNA.

- Have any authors, books or stories been a source of inspiration to you?

I've been an avid reader my whole life. I enjoy reading for its own sake and don't discriminate much when it comes to material. I've been inspired by everyone from Charles Dickens to Danielle Steele. If I had to choose a main source, I'd probably say Poe.

- You've written The Ghosts of Ravencrest series and The Cliffhouse Haunting with Tamara Thorne. Could you tell us something about them?

Tamara Thorne and I joined forces in 2012 when I hunted her down and insisted she get to know me. I discovered her work in the 90s and have been a fan ever since. We quickly found we got along, and before we even discussed the possibility of collaborating, we found ourselves brainstorming novels together.

The Ghosts of Ravencrest is a balls-to-the-wall full-force Gothic that is born of our mutual love for the genre. In the vein of Dark Shadows and Rebecca, The Ghosts of Ravencrest is a rollicking good time with lots of chills, plenty of sex appeal, and more ghosts than you can shake a flask of holy water at. New governess, Belinda Moorland, is learning that beneath Ravencrest's stately exterior, there lurks darkness and danger, murder, mystery, and mayhem. The inhabitants of the manor - both the living and the dead - have taken special interest in her, and as she tries to uncover the mysteries of the mansion, her employer, the handsome millionaire Eric Manning, is proving to be a great distraction ... of the sexiest kind. Ravencrest is a serialization, with new installments coming out every four to six weeks. It's ongoing, like a soap opera, and we intend to keep at it until we've exposed every secret and unearthed every mystery of Ravencrest Manor. And that's a lot of secrets and mysteries.

The Cliffhouse Haunting is also a ghost story, but a much different one than Ravencrest. This novel takes place in a grand mountain hotel called the Cliffhouse Lodge, in the fictional town of Cliffside, California, where a phantom, the Blue Lady, is said to walk when death is imminent. And now, there's a serial killer on the loose, and the Blue Lady sightings are going through the roof. As the owners of the Cliffhouse Lodge lose guests and maids to alleged ghostly sightings, disembodied whispers, wet phantom footprints, and shrieks of madness in the dead of night, police chief Jackson Ballou is up to his neck in the eerie and inexplicable, and can barely focus on his growing interest in diner owner, Polly Owen.

- You've also collaborated on many other projects with Tamara Thorne, including Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE!. What kind of radio show is it?

Haunted Nights LIVE! is a weekly, hour-long horror and paranormal-themed show that has allowed me to meet some of the most legendary writers of this era. As well as authors, we also talk to occasional paranormal experts, and even psychics. Our guests have included Christopher Rice, Laurell K. Hamilton, Jeff Lindsay, and Jay Bonansinga. Upcoming, we have Charlaine Harris, Christopher Moore, and Jonathan Maberry. It's pretty incredible. We talk about writing, the publishing industry, and anything that strikes our interest. I love it. Anyone who's interested in the show can visit our Facebook page.

- Your solo novel, The Crimson Corset (first part of The Vampires of Crimson Cove), will be published soon (July 2015). What kind of a novel is it?

Underneath the blood-sucking, dark seductions, and myriad indecent proceedings, The Crimson Corset is a story of the corruption of power, the ruin of addiction, and the strength of family ties. It's a testament to the power of the human will. It takes place in the fictional town of Crimson Cove, which I had a ton of fun creating. It has lots of vampires, plenty of sex appeal, and great scenery.

- What inspired you to write The Crimson Corset?

The odd truth is that I was struck by the basic idea for this novel at a nightclub with some friends several years ago. There was something about the atmosphere of the place that inspired me, and I spent the evening alone at the bar, taking notes on the backs of napkins.

- What can readers expect from The Crimson Corset? How would you advertise it to readers?

I love vampires and wanted to maintain their fundamental integrity, so while there's sexiness, there's also much menace. I wanted to write an all-encompassing novel that reached readers on many different levels, and I feel good about the outcome. Readers can expect glamour and gore, beauty and terror, laughter and woe, and fresh ideas with a strong respect for tradition.

- Could you tell us something about the characters in The Crimson Corset?

The characters are my favorite aspect of this novel - some are good, some are bad, but all of them are very real to me. I grew attached to many of them. Each of them has a fully-developed backstory - even the ones who didn't get much stage time in this book, and I look forward to delving more deeply into their stories with the subsequent Crimson Cove books.

- What are you currently working on?

A few things. Tamara Thorne and I are wrapping up the 8th installment of The Ghosts of Ravencrest, which will be out within a few days. After that, we're beginning the next collaborative novel, a psychological thriller with plenty of scares and scandal - and in the meantime, I'm beginning the next solo novel. This is not a sequel to The Crimson Corset, but a new idea that I'd like to get written before returning to Crimson Cove next year.

- Is there anything you'd like to add?

Thank you for this interview. I've had a lot of fun with these questions and I appreciate your time. Also, thank you to the readers who allow me to keep doing what I'm doing.

Log in to comment
Discuss this article in the forums (0 replies).
Online 52 visitors
Newest member: Grace Tydings
Total members: 5122