Review: Arms Against a Sea (and Other Troubles) by Rhys Hughes

06 Feb 2021 15:12 #1 :: Seregil of Rhiminee
Review: Arms Against a Sea (and Other Troubles) by Rhys Hughes

Rhys Hughes' Arms Against a Sea (and Other Troubles) was published in October 2019.

About Rhys Hughes:

In his own words (from his official website):

"I am a writer of Fantasy and Magic Realism who often uses comedy and absurdism to examine philosophical issues. I am known for my original ideas, intricate plots and entertaining wordplay! I write short stories, novellas and novels. To a lesser extent I write poetry and non-fiction. I sometimes say that writing is the only thing I'm good at. I try to make that sound like a joke, but I don't think it is... I really am mediocre at most things, but my passion for writing keeps growing stronger!

I have been a writer from an early age. I completed my first proper short story when I was 14. It was called 'The Journey of Mountain Hawk' and I still remember what it was about, even though it no longer exists. None of my early work exists. My earliest surviving short story dates from 1989, and since that time I have embarked on an ambitious project of writing a story cycle consisting of exactly 1000 linked tales. Recently I decided to give this cycle an overall name - PANDORA'S BLUFF.

In the weeks that follow I will discuss this story cycle in greater detail. I will also talk about three key elements that are essential to an understanding of what I am attempting to do in the world of literature. These key elements are:

TAKING ABSURDISM SERIOUSLY
THE MOLECULAR THEORY OF FICTION
THE ROMANTI-CYNICAL MANIFESTO

Thank you for listening!"

Click here to visit his official website.

About Arms Against a Sea (and Other Troubles):