A review of Richard Gavin's At Fear's Altar

20 Nov 2012 21:16 #1 :: Seregil of Rhiminee
A review of Richard Gavin's At Fear's Altar

Richard Gavin's At Fear's Altar was published by Hippocampus Press in October 2012.

Richard Gavin is the author of three previous short story collections, Charnel Wine (2004), Omens (2007), and The Darkly Splendid Realm (2009). He lives in Ontario, Canada, with his beloved wife and their brood.

Click here to visit the author's official website.

Here's a description of At Fear's Altar:

Canadian author Richard Gavin has established himself as a leading contemporary writer of weird fiction. His richly nuanced prose style, his imaginative range, and his shrewdness in the portrayal of character and domestic conflict make his tales far more than mere shudder-coining. In this fourth collection of short stories and novelettes, Gavin again casts a wide imaginative net, from haunted Canadian woodlands to the carnivorous mesas of the American frontier, from Lovecraft's New England to the spirit traditions of Japan. Of the dozen stories included in this book, eight are previously unpublished - a rich new feast of terror for devotees of a writer who works in the tradition of Poe, Machen, Blackwood, and Ligotti.

A REVIEW OF RICHARD GAVIN'S AT FEAR'S ALTAR

Read more...