Recent Topics
Articles & Reviews
February 22, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Articles & Reviews
February 21, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Articles & Reviews
February 21, 2021
1 topic | Seregil of Rhiminee
Series: The Kingkiller Chronicle
January 19, 2021
1 topic | Darkki
Book: The Serpent's Mirror
January 18, 2021
1 topic | Diane Schindler
Book: The Doors of Stone
January 12, 2021
1 topic | Darkki

The Ulysses Quicksilver Omnibus: Volume Two by Jonathan Green

20 Nov 2015 16:45 - 20 Nov 2015 16:47 #1 by Seregil of Rhiminee
Ulysses Quicksilver returns for second Steampunk-tastic omnibus

Abaddon collects three Pax Brittania adventures in brand new Jonathan Green Omnibus.

In an explosion of brass and steam, the deadliest dandy in all the British Empire is back in a brand new collected edition from Abaddon. The Ulysses Quicksilver Omnibus Volume Two collects three all-action, steam-driven Jonathan Green novels: Evolution Expects, Blood Royal and Dark Side.

David Thomas Moore commented on The Ulysses Quicksilver Omnibus Volume Two:

Pax Britannia’s one of the longest-running steampunk series out there, and the Ulysses Quicksilver stories are great fare: fun, fast, pulpy entertainment, with mad scientists, out-of-control automatons and treasonous industrialists on every page. In the second collection, you’ll encounter the beginnings of a darker, more challenging story, as the indefatigable gentleman-adventurer starts to see the darkness at the heart of his beloved Empire. It’s great to see them receiving a brush up and new presentation, joining the first three novels in a smart new edition. And Harrison’s homage to Le Voyage dans la Lune is a cracking bit of cover art.”

Jonathan Green commented:

“I’m thrilled to see Evolution Expects, Blood Royal and Dark Side (first published between 2009 and 2010) collected together and in print again, and it makes me realise just how many words I’ve written about Ulysses Quicksilver and his steampunk adventures.

If a Batman-inspired Spring-Heeled Jack, psychotic werewolves, Machiavellian vampires, giant steampunk robots, and tales of lunar derring-do are your thing, then you’ll love this omnibus. And if you do, there’s plenty more where that came from in the Abaddon back catalogue.”

The Ulysses Quicksilver Omnibus Volume Two is out on December 1 (US)/ 3 December (UK) from Abaddon Books.


Pax Britannia: The Ulysses Quicksilver Omnibus Volume Two

THE DARK HEART OF THE EMPIRE – EXPOSED! In his ongoing adventures in the services of Queen and Empire, Ulysses Quicksilver – hero and dandy – begins to uncover the corruption and decay in his beloved Britannia. This worthy tome collects three tales of desperation...

Evolution Expects

After nearly 160 years as the supreme power on the planet, the British Empire has become stagnant and corrupt. The new Prime Minister, Devlin Valentine, promises change, but some lack the patience for politics. With a dangerous vigilante stalking the streets, a monster on the loose in the East End and rival gangs fighting for control, there may be nothing Ulysses – trapped in the notorious Bedlam Hospital – can do to prevent a catastrophic metamorphosis!

Blood Royal

With the city, and the Empire, reeling from the transformations of a month before, a twisted new religion rises from the devastation. In the mean-time, in Europe, the spectre of war rears its ugly head; and rumours hint at monsters, things of myth, on both sides. Ulysses Quicksilver, fighting for peace and for reason – for civilisation itself – follows a path that leads him from the shattered streets of London to the icy wastes at the heart of a secretive, bloody empire.

Dark Side

Searching for his brother Barty, Ulysses heads to the British Lunar colonies. The trail leads him and his faithful butler into the path of unsolved murders, battling robots, shady millionaires and uncanny inventions. Stalled when he ends up on the wrong side of Lunar law and hunted by a mysterious eyepatch-wearing stranger, the dandy adventurer will uncover, in a secret base on the dark side of the moon, truths that will challenge everything he knew about Britannia...


Praise for Pax Britannia:

“Jonathan Green gets mileage out of his monsters, with big action set-pieces that read like things we’d like to see in a rip-roaring summer movie.” - SFX

“The ideas are vast and vastly entertaining.” - SF Site

About the author

Jonathan Green is a writer of speculative fiction with more than sixty books to his name. He has written everything from Fighting Fantasy gamebooks to Doctor Who novels, by way of Sonic the Hedgehog, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and Judge Dredd. He is the creator of the Pax Britannia steampunk series for Abaddon Books, and the author of the award-winning, and critically-acclaimed, YOU ARE THE HERO – A History of Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks.

Follow Jonathan on Twitter , and visit his website for more information .
Last edit: 20 Nov 2015 16:47 by Seregil of Rhiminee.