SFWA Science Fiction Story Bundle May 9-24 is now LIVE!

  • Seregil of Rhiminee's Avatar
Seregil of Rhiminee
Administrator
Level: 99
  • Posts: 3058
Seregil of Rhiminee created the topic: SFWA Science Fiction Story Bundle May 9-24 is now LIVE!
1 month 5 days ago #1

The Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) Science Fiction Bundle is now LIVE!



Welcome to the largest, grandest and most out there bundle SFWA has ever done: the Sci-Fi SFWA Space Bundle! With 17 books that range from hardcore military sci-fi to character-focused alien encounters, we might have gone through the wormhole and out the other side.

SFWA serves authors at all points in their careers and we've embraced that diversity for this bundle. First, the Self-Publishing Committee reached out to a number of sci-fi authors throughout the genre who we know have enthusiastic and diverse fanbases. Then we opened the bundle up for submissions to our entire membership. We received far more submissions than we could actually put in this bundle, but after some rousing debate, we settled on a total of 17 spectacular titles.

Some highlights include:

The Dark Between by Stephanie Bedwell-Grime: Want something a bit different? I always do. This story starts with the spacehulk trope and goes in a direction that is totally unexpected. Space is a big strange place and Stephanie nails that with these interlocking characters.

Troubled Space by Amy Duboff:

Amy has honored us with a true treat, launching her new novel with our Storybundle. I went in blind expecting a plucky smuggler story but as the absurdities built I realized we'd gone from space opera to Spaceballs. Warning, this one may cause giggling as the absurdities pile up.

Crapkiller by Felix R. Savage: On Ganymede, nothing is what it seems and this story straight up surprised me. I had been expecting an action-packed bug hunt, but what I got was a thoughtful adventure that serves as a crucible for its characters to mature into. Combined with Felix's rich world-building, this is a journey that shouldn't be missed.

These are but 3 of the 17 books we are bringing to you today. There are many wonders within this bundle and I'm sure every reader will find something to love within. When you do find gems that fits you, I urge you to reach out to the authors to let them know, write a review, or simply share the book with a friend.

Some of the proceeds of the bundle go to support SFWA in its mission to support, promote, inform, defend, and advocate for professional fantasy and science fiction writers. For more about the organization, see sfwa.org . For its grants program, see http://www.sfwa.org/2017/09/call-grants-2017/ – Daniel Potter

The initial titles in The Sci-Fi SFWA Space Bundle (minimum $5 to purchase) are:

- Cygnus Rising by Craig Martelle
- Some Distant Shore by Dave Creek
- Rita Longknife - Enemy Unknown by Mike Shepherd
- Crapkiller by Felix R. Savage
- Ithaka Rising by LJ Cohen
- Compete - The Atlantis Grail Book 2 by Vera Nazarian

If you pay at least the bonus price of just $15, you get all six of the regular titles, plus ELEVEN more!

- Nothing Left to Wish For by Andrew G. Schneider
- Troubled Space by Amy DuBoff
- The Dream Guild Chronicles Boxed Set (Books 1-3) by David Bruns
- A Rose From Old Terra by Don Sakers
- Fluency by Jennifer Foehner Wells
- Accord of Honor by Kevin McLaughlin
- Rika Outcast by M. D. Cooper
- Space Carrier Avalon by Glynn Stewart
- The Dark Between by Stephanie Bedwell-Grime
- Storm Divers by Terry Mixon
- The Tomorrow Log by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller

Not only that, but during our 3 week run, all StoryBundle newsletter subscribers get Qualify - The Atlantis Grail Book 1 by Vera Nazarian for free. Make sure to get that so you can enjoy Compete - The Atlantis Grail Book 2 by Vera Nazarian, available in the bundle!

This bundle is available only for a limited time via http://www.storybundle.com . It allows easy reading on computers, smartphones, and tablets as well as Kindle and other ereaders via file transfer, email, and other methods. You get multiple DRM-free formats (.epub and .mobi) for all books!

It's also super easy to give the gift of reading with StoryBundle, thanks to our gift cards – which allow you to send someone a code that they can redeem for any future StoryBundle bundle – and timed delivery, which allows you to control exactly when your recipient will get the gift of StoryBundle.

Books included:

Space Carrier Avalon by Glynn Stewart: Carriers clash and starfighters duel in Glynn Stewart's epic far future novel of a cold war on the verge of turning hot.

Fluency by Jennifer Foehner Wells: An expedition to a derelict alien ship spirals into chaos and linguist Jane Holloway must decide if she can trust an alien's help to survive.Fluency won the Gold in the Fantasy/Science Fiction category of the 2015 eLit awards.

Enemy Unknown by Mike Shepard: The war is over, so why are merchant ships still vanishing? Is it pirates, or is humanity no longer alone in the galaxy?

Rika Outcast Micheal Cooper: Rika is mech-meat, a cyborg killing machine, created by the Genevian military and cast aside when the war was lost; she wants to build a new future for herself, but hope doesn't buy repairs, and Rika will find her fighting another people's war just to stay alive.

Cygnus Rising by Craig Martelle: From space they came, to space the returned, humanity searching for a way home.

Storm Divers by Terry Mixon: Adam Hale thought diving deep into Jupiter's atmosphere was the most dangerous thing he could do, but that was before a beautiful spy that hated his guts came looking for him.

Troubled Space by Amy Duboff: Aspiring smuggler Jack Tressler is subscripted into a pirate gang where ambitious heists, poor planning, and food-related distractions are a way of life in this farcical space opera adventure.

CrapKiller by Felix R Savage: She was expecting a holiday on Ganymede ... not a vermin hunt.

Accord of Honor by Kevin McLaughlin: A retired admiral and a young spaceship captain are all that stands between a defenseless Earth and those who would take total control over all of humanity.

Tomorrow Log by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller: Master Thief Gem ser'Edreth's first mistake: refusing to steal what the planetary crime boss wanted. His second: stealing it anyway.

Irradiance by David Bruns: Utopia Rule #1: Don't ask questions. Big Brother casts a long shadow in this dystopian sci-fi novel about one Citizen's fight against her Community.

Ithaka Rising (Halcyone Space, book 2) by LJ Cohen: After a reckless young computer programmer resurrects the damaged AI on a long dormant freighter, she and her accidental crew blunder into a galactic conspiracy forty years in the making.

A Rose From Old Terra by Don Sakers: A group of far-future librarians travels to a distant part of the galaxy to save civilization.

The Dark Between by Stephanie Bedwell-Grime: A dark mystery lurking on a derelict spaceship leads to a desperate fight for survival.

Qualify by Vera Nazarian: Nerd, geek, and awkward smart girl Gwen Lark must compete against other Earth teens, including her high school crush Logan Sangre, in order to Qualify for interplanetary rescue from an asteroid apocalypse in this high-octane dystopian thriller from a Nebula Award Finalist, in the vein of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES, and winner of The Fiction Awards 2016 on Wattpad.

Some Distant Shore by Dave Creek: Two star systems are colliding, and Mike Christopher of the Earth starship Asaph Hall is rushing to unlock their mysteries, even as two alien races on the journey are keeping their own potentially deadly secrets.

Nothing Left to Wish For by Andrew G. Schneider: Step onto the deck of the skyship, the Pirate Queen and join first mate Esmeralda, Prince Sasha, and the genie Sting on a spectacular voyage across the Endless Desert.


Online 3 members and 41 visitors
Eija, Bill B, Vanda
Newest member: Qtesteret33Q322qnew10HY
Total members: 4530