Tom Arden

Tom Arden

David Rain (1961–2015), known by his pen name Tom Arden, was a British science fiction and fantasy writer. He was born in Australia. His main work is the five volume Orokon saga, as well as the novels Shadow Black, The Translation of Bastian Test and the Doctor Who novella Nightdreamers.

Arden was born in 1961 and grew up in Mount Gambier, South Australia. He wrote his first unpublished novel, Moon Escape at the age of seven and later studied English at the University of Adelaide, graduating with First Class Honours. Arden completed his Ph.D. thesis on Clarissa, the epic tale by 18th-century novelist Samuel Richardson.

In 1990, he moved to the United Kingdom, living in Northern Ireland and England. He lectured in English at Queen's University of Belfast for seven years. Since 2003, he lectured creative writing at Middlesex University, London. He died of cancer on 15 December 2015.

More info - 
Edited: Seregil of Rhiminee October 28, 2016
Book Covers
The Harlequin's Dance (The Orokon #1)
The King and Queen of Swords (The Orokon #2)
Sultan of the Moon and Stars (The Orokon #3)
Sisterhood of the Blue Storm (The Orokon #4)
Shadow Black
Empress of the Endless Dream (The Orokon #5)
Nightdreamers (Doctor Who Novellas #3)
The Translation of Bastian Test

Speculative Fiction Novels (8)

2005 | science fiction
(Doctor Who Novellas #3)
2002 | science fiction
(The Orokon #5)
2001 | fantasy > high fantasy

2001 | fantasy, horror
(The Orokon #4)
2000 | fantasy > high fantasy
(The Orokon #3)
1999 | fantasy > high fantasy
(The Orokon #2)
1998 | fantasy > high fantasy
(The Orokon #1)
1997 | fantasy > high fantasy