Paula Brackston

Paula Brackston

Paula Brackston lives in a wild, mountainous part of Wales. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Lancaster University, and is a Visiting Lecturer for the University of Wales, Newport. Before becoming a writer, Paula tried her hand at various career paths, with mixed success. These included working as a groom on a racing yard, as a travel agent, a secretary, an English teacher, and a goat herd. Everyone involved (particularly the goats) is very relieved that she has now found a job she is actually able to do properly.

When not hunched over her keyboard in her tiny office under the stairs, Paula is dragged outside by her children to play Swedish tennis on the vertiginous slopes which surround them. She also enjoys being walked by the dog, hacking through weeds in the vegetable patch, or sitting by the pond with a glass of wine. Most of the inspiration for her writing comes from stomping about on the mountains being serenaded by skylarks and buzzards.

In 2007 Paula was short listed in the Creme de la Crime search for new writers. In 2010 her book 'Nutters' (writing as PJ Davy) was short listed for the Mind Book Award, and she was selected by the BBC under their New Welsh Writers scheme.

She also writes under the pseudonym of P. J. Brackston.

More info - 
Edited: Seregil of Rhiminee July 11, 2018
Book Covers
The Witch's Daughter (The Witch's Daughter #1)
Lamp Black, Wolf Grey
The Witches of the Blue Well
The Winter Witch
The Midnight Witch
The Silver Witch
The Return of the Witch (The Witch's Daughter #2)
The Little Shop of Found Things (Found Things #1)
Secrets of the Chocolate House (Found Things #2)
The Garden of Promises and Lies (Found Things #3)7.34
City of Time and Magic (Found Things #4)

Speculative Fiction Novels (11)

(Found Things #4)
2021 | fantasy
(Found Things #3)
2020 | fantasy
(Found Things #2)
2019 | fantasy
(Found Things #1)
2018 | fantasy
(The Witch's Daughter #2)
2016 | fantasy > historical fantasy
(Shadow Chronicles)
2015 | fantasy > historical fantasy
(Shadow Chronicles)
2014 | fantasy > historical fantasy
(Shadow Chronicles)
2013 | fantasy > historical fantasy
(Shadow Chronicles)
2012 | fantasy > historical fantasy

2010 | fantasy
(The Witch's Daughter #1)
2009 | fantasy > historical fantasy