Daphne du Maurier

Daphne du Maurier

Dame Daphne du Maurier, Lady Browning DBE (1907-1989) was an English author and playwright.

Many of her works have been adapted into films, including the novels Rebecca (the film adaptation of which won the Best Picture Oscar in 1941) and Jamaica Inn and the short stories The Birds and Don't Look Now. The first three film adaptations were directed by Alfred Hitchcock and the last by Nicolas Roeg.

Her grandfather was the artist and writer George du Maurier and her father the actor Gerald du Maurier. Her elder sister Angela also became a writer, and her younger sister Jeanne was a painter.

More info - (Risingshadow.fi)
Edited by 2015-03-31 (Seregil of Rhiminee)
Speculative Fiction Novels (9)
2011  The Doll: The Lost Short Stories
/stars/0.png (horror, short stories, mystery)
1987  Classics of the Macabre
/stars/4.png (horror, short stories, mystery)
1976  Echoes from the Macabre
/stars/0.png (horror, short stories, mystery)
1972  Rule Britannia
/stars/3.gif (science fiction > dystopia)
1971  Not After Midnight
/stars/0.png (horror, short stories, mystery)
1969  The House on the Strand
/stars/35.gif (fantasy)
1952  The Birds and Other Stories
/stars/5.png (horror, short stories, mystery)
1952  The Apple Tree: A Short Novel and Several Long Stories
/stars/0.png (horror, short stories, mystery)
1938  Rebecca (Rebecca, #1)
/stars/2.gif (horror, mystery)

Online 44 visitors
Newest member: Rachel Oliver
Total members: 6172