Naomi Mitchison

Naomi Mitchison

Naomi Mary Margaret Mitchison, Lady Mitchison, CBE (née Haldane; 1897-1999) was a Scottish novelist and poet. Often referred to as the doyenne of Scottish literature, she wrote over 90 books covering a wide range of genre including historical, science fiction, travelogue and autobiography. With her husband Gilbert Richard Mitchison becoming a life peer in 1964, she was also entitled to call herself Lady Mitchison, but never used the title herself. She was appointed CBE (Commander of the Order of the British Empire) in 1981.

Following her father John Scott Haldane and elder brother J. B. S. Haldane, Naomi Mitchison initially pursued a scientific career. From 1908 she and her brother started investigating Mendelian genetics. Their publication in 1915 became the first demonstration of genetic linkage in mammals. But while a diploma student at Society of Oxford Home Students (later St Anne's College, Oxford), the First World War broke out that changed her interest to nursing.

Her novel The Corn King and the Spring Queen (1931) is regarded by some as the best historical novel of the 20th century.

Naomi Mitchison was a vocal feminist, particularly campaigning for birth control. We Have Been Warned (1935) is regarded as her most controversial work due to explicit sexuality. The book was rejected by leading publishers and ultimately censored.

More info - 
Edited by 2016-04-03 (Seregil of Rhiminee)
Speculative Fiction Novels (5)
1975  Solution Three
/stars/0.png (science fiction)
1962  Memoirs of a Spacewoman
/stars/0.png (science fiction)
1952  Travel Light
/stars/3.gif (fantasy)
1936  The Fourth Pig
/stars/0.png (fantasy, short stories)
1931  The Corn King and the Spring Queen
/stars/0.png (fantasy)

Online 73 visitors
Newest member: Aleiyah Nelson
Total members: 5727