Moorcock's Book of Martyrs
Give rating


Moorcock's Book of Martyrs

by Michael Moorcock
Release date: 1976
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, short stories

Published in the US as Dying for Tomorrow.

  • Introduction
  • A Dead Singer (1974)
  • The Greater Conqueror (1963)
  • Behold the Man (1966, novella version)
  • Good-bye, Miranda (1964)
  • Flux (1963)
  • Islands (1963)
  • Waiting for the End of Time... (1970)

A new collection of Michael Moorcock's own favorite stories. From the return of Jimi Hendrix, as witnessed by a hero-worshipping, spaced-out roadie, to the death of Christ, as witnessed by a time-travelling tourist, from the end of the universe to the creation of a new one – these are stories about martyrdom, salvation and apocalypse.

Published as a unit, they include the Nebula-award winning Behold the Man, The Greater Conqueror, in which are revealed the dark secrets of Alexander the Great, Goodbye Miranda, a story of release from both gravity and sanity, Islands, and Waiting for the End of Time.

This unusual book presents a unique sampling of the many talents of the writer who dreamed the high fantasy of Elric and the Runestaff, of the innovator who constructed the Jerry Cornelius Tetralogy, of the science fiction satirist of Legends from the End of Time, of the pathbreaking pioneer of the "New Wave" and the nostalgic novelist of The Land Leviathan... all of whom are: Michael Moorcock!

(updated 2010-09-07)

Other books you might like

The Fates Divide (Carve the Mark, #2)Chocolate LeninHeart Fire (Celta, #13)The Stones Are SingingThe Record of a Fallen Vampire: Volume 5 (The Record of a Fallen Vampire, #5)
Online 39 visitors
Newest member: Jamie Hollensbe
Total members: 5156