The Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3) - Brandon Sanderson8.32

David Gemmell Legend Award nominee 2008.

Who is the Hero of Ages?

To end the Final Empire and restore freedom, Vin killed the Lord Ruler. But as a result, the Deepness – the lethal form of the ubiquitous mists – is back, along with increasingly heavy ashfalls and ever more powerful earthquakes. Humanity appears to be doomed.

Having escaped death at the climax of The Well of Ascension only by becoming a Mistborn himself, Emperor Elend Venture hopes to find clues left behind by the Lord Ruler that will allow him to save the world. Vin is consumed with guilt at having been tricked into releasing the mystic force known as Ruin from the Well. Ruin wants to end the world, and its near omniscience and ability to warp reality make stopping it seem impossible. She can’t even discuss it with Elend lest Ruin learn their plans!

The conclusion of the Mistborn trilogy fulfills all the promise of the first two books. Revelations abound, connections rooted in early chapters of the series click into place, and surprises, as satisfying as they are stunning, blossom like fireworks to dazzle and delight. It all leads up to a finale unmatched for originality and audacity that will leave readers rubbing their eyes in wonder, as if awaking from an amazing dream.

Thread: Brandon Sanderson :: 12 messages
Rate this book

Release date: October 5, 2008
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 8.32/10
Total ratings: 88
Updated: April 02, 2021

Mistborn :: Series

Mistborn is a series of epic fantasy novels written by American author Brandon Sanderson and published by Tor Books. It is a major part of the Cosmere sequence and is set mostly on the Shardworld Scadrial. The first trilogy, published between 2006 and 2008, consists of The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages.

This trilogy contains the First Era events. Related series are then next Era part in the future events and time between each series has gone over hundreds of years. It's recommend to read these books at the order listed below.

Belongs to the series Cosmere
Related series Mistborn: Wax and Wayne
Related series Mistborn: Third Era
Related series Mistborn: Forth Era

Mistborn: Secret History
Mistborn: The Final Empire (Mistborn #1)8.62
The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2)8.04
The Hero of Ages (Mistborn #3)8.32


6/10 |
June 19, 2014
I really enjoyed the first book in this series, The Final Empire. I had a hard time putting it down. The second book, The Well of Ascension, wasn't as enticing, but I still enjoyed it. That brings us to the third book, The Hero of Ages. I ...