Severian of the Guild - Gene Wolfe8.80

An omnibus edition of The Shadow of the Torturer, The Claw of the Conciliator, The Sword of the Lictor and The Citadel of the Autarch.

Severian is a torturer, born to the guild and with an exceptionally promising career ahead of him... until he falls in love with one of his victims, a beautiful young noblewoman. Out of love, Severian helps her commit suicide and escape her fate – no more unforgivable act for a torturer.

He is exiled from the guild and his home city to the distant metropolis of Thrax with little more than Terminus Est, a fabled sword, to his name. Along the way he has to learn to survive in a wider world without the guild – a world in which he has already made both allies and enemies. And a strange gem is about to fall into his possession, which will make his enemies pursue him with ever more determination...

Welcome to a world in which nothing is quite as it seems; to an unreliable narrator; to extraordinary, vivid and evocative writing; to one of the greatest genre classics of all time.

"One of the great science fantasy epics of all time." – George R. R. Martin

Rate this book

Release date: October 2007
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, collection
Average rating: 8.80/10
Total ratings: 5
Updated: June 10, 2011

The Book of the New Sun (omnibus editions) :: Series

Belongs to the series The Book of the New Sun

Shadow and Claw (The Book of the New Sun (omnibus editions) #1)9.00
Sword and Citadel (The Book of the New Sun (omnibus editions) #2)8.80
Severian of the Guild8.80