The Great Dune Trilogy

by Frank Herbert
The Great Dune Trilogy - Frank Herbert 8.00   3

An omnibus edition of Dune, Dune Messiah and Children of Dune.

Herbert's evocative, epic tales are set on the desert planet Arrakis, the focus for a complex political and military struggle with galaxy-wide repercussions. Arrakis is the source of spice, a mind enhancing drug which makes interstellar travel possible; it is the most valuable substance in the galaxy.

When Duke Atreides and his family take up court there, they fall into a trap set by the Duke's bitter rival, Baron Harkonnen. The Duke is poisoned, but his wife and her son Paul escape to the vast and arid deserts of Arrakis, which have given the planet its nickname of Dune.

Paul and his mother join the Fremen, the Arrakis natives, ho have learnt to live in this harsh and complex ecosystem. But learning to survive is not enough – Paul's destiny was mapped out long ago and his mother is committed to seeing it fulfilled.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Release date 2004
Details updated August 23, 2022

Dune :: Series

Series contains 6 primary works and has 7 total works.

Main series Dune Universe

Dune (Dune #1) 8.36   210
Dune Messiah (Dune #2) 7.04   79
Children of Dune (Dune #3) 6.88   26
God Emperor of Dune (Dune #4) 6.06   15
Heretics of Dune (Dune #5) 5.50   12
Chapterhouse: Dune (Dune #6) 5.90   10
The Great Dune Trilogy 8.00   3

Community Reviews & Rates

Blue Six
Blue Six
955 ratings
12 reviews
5 posts
September 16, 2015
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book
84 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
May 28, 2015
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book
1541 ratings
0 reviews
132 posts
September 13, 2008
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book