The Other Wind (Earthsea, #6)
Avg rating 3.97
3.97 stars
Give rating

Ratings (153)

The Other Wind

by Ursula K. Le Guin
Release date: 2001
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Tags: tv series, world fantasy award

World Fantasy Award 2002. Nebula Award nominee 2002, Mythopoeic Fantasy Award nominee 2002.

The sorcerer Alder fears sleep. He dreams of the land of death, of his wife who died young and longs to return to him so much that she kissed him across the low stone wall that separates our world from the Dry Land – where the grass is withered, the stars never move, and lovers pass without knowing each other. The dead are pulling Alder to them at night. Through him they may free themselves and invade Earthsea.

Alder seeks advice from Ged, once Archmage. Ged tells him to go to Tenar, Tehanu, and the young king at Havnor. They are joined by amber-eyed Irian, a fierce dragon able to assume the shape of a woman.

The threat can be confronted only in the Immanent Grove on Roke, the holiest place in the world and there the king, hero, sage, wizard, and dragon make a last stand.

Le Guin combines her magical fantasy with a profoundly human, earthly, humble touch.

updated 2017-01-16

Other books you might like

The Broken Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy, #2)Winter of Ice and IronBroken Veil (The Harbinger Series, #5)Queens of the Sea (Blood and Gold, #3)The Binder's Game (The Sighted Assassin, #1)
Online 32 visitors
Newest member: Tushar Bhattacharyya
Total members: 5916