Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception (Books of Faerie, #1)
Avg rating 3.50
3.50 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception

by Maggie Stiefvater
Release date: October 1, 2008
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy, young adult

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand – one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass – a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky – and equally dangerous – dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind...

Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

updated 2010-09-07

Other books you might like

Our Lady of the Streets (Skyscraper Throne Series, #3)The Girl Who Drank the MoonCircle of Shadows (Circle of Shadows, #1)Leena's Story: The Complete A Dance of Dragons NovellasLegend of  Witchtrot Road (Spirit Guide, #3)
Online 34 visitors
Newest member: Atanas Stoilov
Total members: 6169