She Is the Darkness (The Black Company, #7)
Avg rating 4.31
4.31 stars
Give rating

Ratings (8)

She Is the Darkness

by Glen Cook
Release date: 1997
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasydark fantasy
Tags: military

Book Two of Glittering Stone

The wind whines and howls with bitter breath. Lightning snarls and barks. Rage is an animate force upon the plain of glittering stone. Even shadows are afraid.

At the heart of the plain stands a vast grey stronghold, unknown, older than any written memory. One ancient tower has collapsed across the fissure. From the heart of the fastness comes a great deep slow beat like that of a slumbering world-heart, cracking the olden silence.

Death is eternity. Eternity is stone. Stone is silence.

Stone cannot speak but stone remembers.

So begins the next movement of Glittering Stone...

The tale again comes to us from the pen of Murgen, Annalist and Standard Bearer of the Black Company, whose developing powers of travel through space and time give him a perspective like no other.

Led by the wily commander, Croaker, and the Lady, the Company is working for the Taglian government, but neither the Company nor the Taglians are overflowing with trust for each other. Arrayed against both is a similarly tenuous alliance of sorcerers, including the diabolical Soulcatcher, the psychotic Howler, and a four-year-old child who may be the most powerful of all.

updated 2017-01-19

Other books you might like

The Fire in His Hands (The Dread Empire (prequels), #1)The Many Deaths of the Black Company (The Black Company (omnibus editions), #4)The White Rose (The Black Company, #3)A Cruel WindThe Books of the South (The Black Company (omnibus editions), #2)
Online 35 visitors
Newest member: Billy
Total members: 6171