Soldiers Live

by Glen Cook
Soldiers Live (The Black Company #9) - Glen Cook 9.50   6

Book Four of Glittering Stone

When sorcerers and demigods go to war, those wars are fought by mercenaries, "dog soldiers," grunts in the trenches. And the stories of those soldiers are the stories of Glen Cook's hugely popular "Black Company" novels. If the Joseph Heller of Catch-22 were to tell the story of The Lord of the Rings, it might read like the Black Company books. There is nothing else in fantasy like them.

Now, at last, Cook brings the "Glittering Stone" cycle within the Black Company series to an end... but an end with many other tales left to tell. As Soldiers Live opens, Croaker is military dictator of all the Taglias, and no Black Company member has died in battle for four years. Croaker figures it can't last. He's right.

For, of course, many of the Company's old adversaries are still around. Narayan Singh and his adopted daughter – actually the offspring of Croaker and the Lady – hope to bring about the apocalyptic Year of the Skulls. Other old enemies like Shadowcatcher, Longshadow, and Howler are also ready to do the Company harm. And much of the Company is still recovering from the fifteen years many of them spent in a stasis field.

Then a report arrives of an evil spirit, a forvalaka, that has taken over one of their old enemies. It attacks them at a shadowgate – setting off a chain of events that will bring the Company to the edge of apocalypse and, as usual, several steps beyond.

Glen Cook is the leading modern writer of epic fantasy noir, and Soldiers Live is Cook at his best. None of his legion of fans will want to miss it.

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Soldiers Live related topics

No topics yet related to this book.
Create a new topic (guest post allowed)

Release date 2000
Details updated August 23, 2022

The Black Company :: Series

Series contains 9 primary works and has 11 total works.

The series follows an elite mercenary unit, The Black Company, last of the Free Companies of Khatovar, through roughly forty years of its approximately four hundred year history. Cook mixes fantasy with military fiction in gritty, down-to-earth portrayals of the Company's chief personalities and its struggles.

Related series The Black Company (omnibus editions)

The Black Company (The Black Company #1) 7.80   61
Shadows Linger (The Black Company #2) 8.28   32
The White Rose (The Black Company #3) 8.46   32
Shadow Games (The Black Company #4) 9.10   10
Dreams of Steel (The Black Company #5) 9.22   9
Bleak Seasons (The Black Company #6) 8.00   8
She Is the Darkness (The Black Company #7) 8.62   8
Water Sleeps (The Black Company #8) 9.16   6
Soldiers Live (The Black Company #9) 9.50   6
The Silver Spike 9.14   7
Port of Shadows 9.00   1

Community Reviews & Rates

Jacopo Belbo
Jacopo Belbo
254 ratings
0 reviews
0 posts
April 8, 2016
Gave 8 / 10 rating to this book
313 ratings
1 reviews
2 posts
November 4, 2013
Gave 9 / 10 rating to this book
85 ratings
0 reviews
1 posts
October 4, 2013
Gave 10 / 10 rating to this book
182 ratings
1 reviews
0 posts
July 8, 2013
Gave 10 / 10 rating to this book