Believing Is Seeing: Seven Stories

Diana Wynne Jones
fantasy, short stories
Believing Is Seeing: Seven Stories - Diana Wynne Jones

This outstanding collection showcases the superb skills, the style, the offbeat quirkiness and sheer narrative power of this award-winning fantasist. 

A child born to an ordered world, pre-ordained to spread Dissolution... a precognitive dream which turns into a nightmare... a girl who so loves the sun that she will deny her humanity for all time... a cat and a boy, held captive by a magician until they find their own magic... a girl cursed with magical powers that may destroy her – or help save a world... a writer battling for supremacy over her computer keyboard... a woman imprisoned in a strange country... 

These seven tales show why Diana Wynne Jones is regarded as Britain's finest fantasy writer.

The book Believing Is Seeing is a sort of alternative USA version of Minor Arcana with just one change, replacing The True State of Affairs with the story Enna Hittims.


  • The Sage of Theare
  • The Master
  • The Girl Who Loved the Sun
  • Dragon Reserve, Home Eight
  • What the Cat Told Me
  • Nad and Dan and Quaffy
  • Enna Hittims
Rate this book

Release date: 1999
Genres: fantasy, short stories
Updated: January 16, 2017