A Fortress in Shadow
Avg rating 4.38
4.38 stars
Give rating

Ratings (4)

A Fortress in Shadow

by Glen Cook
Release date: 2007
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasydark fantasy, collection
Tags: military

A Chronicle of the Dread Empire

Once a mighty kingdom reigned, but now all is chaos. In the vast reaches of the desert, a young heretic escapes certain death and embarks on a mission of madness and glory. He is El Murid – the Disciple – who vows to bring order, prosperity and righteousness to the desert people of Hammad al Nakir. El Murid incites rebellion against the godless kingdoms and tribes as he plots to execute the justice of the desert. After four long centuries, El Murid is the savior who is destined to build a new empire from the blood his enemies.

Or so it seems. El Murid has victory in his grasp, the desert tribes of Hammad al Nakir are rallying around him, and the last remaining thread of the royal lineage wanders the desert with only Heathens to help him. But all is not as it seems, and the sinister forces pulling the strings of empire come into the light. Who and what lies behind El Murid's vision of a desert empire?

Steven Erikson, author of the Malazan series, will contribute an introduction.

A Fortress in Shadow collects the two Dread Empire prequels, The Fire in His Hands and With Mercy Towards None.

Jacket illustration by Raymond Swanland.

updated 2017-01-17

Other books you might like

Chronicles of the Black Company (The Black Company (omnibus editions), #1)The Fire in His Hands (The Dread Empire (prequels), #1)The Black Company (The Black Company, #1)She Is the Darkness (The Black Company, #7)The White Rose (The Black Company, #3)
Online 1 member and 39 visitors
Andrea Cruz
Newest member: aaro
Total members: 6061