Vinland the Dream and Other Stories

by Kim Stanley Robinson
Release date: 2002
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, short stories

A new collection of stories including previously unpublished material from the author of the seminal MARS series. Kim Stanley Robinson is one of science fiction's outstanding stylists and storytellers. His award-winning short fiction shows off his versatility and talent.

This new collection brings together fifteen memorable stories, some of them never before published. Peopled by characters that speak to us directly, and illuminated by reflections that are timeless and haunting, the stories explore different pasts and divergent futures. They revolve around questions of history and meaning, and how what we know about the past influences the way we look at the present and the future.

The stories so far are: "Discovering Life", "Venice Drowned", "Mercurial", "Ridge Running", "The Disguise", "The Lucky Strike", "Coming Back to Dixieland", "Stone Eggs", "Black Air", "A History of the Twentieth Century, with Illustrations", "Remaking History", "Vinland the Dream", "Muir on Shaster", "A Sensitive Dependence on Initial Conditions".

updated 2010-09-07

Other books you might like

The Long Utopia (The Long Earth, #4)The Doomsday Code (TimeRiders, #3)Dust (Silo, #3)Perfect (Flawed, #2)Blue Remembered Earth (Poseidon's Children, #1)
Online 2 members and 33 visitors
Bill B, FreakyMike
Newest member: Lugia - 2000
Total members: 5721