Elric: To Rescue Tanelorn (Chronicles of the Last Emperor of Melniboné, #2)
Avg rating 4.75
4.75 stars
Give rating

Ratings (2)

Elric: To Rescue Tanelorn

by Michael Moorcock
Release date: July 2008
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasysword and sorcery, short stories


  • Foreword by Walter Mosley
  • New introduction by Michael Moorcock
  • The Eternal Champion (1962, novella version)
  • To Rescue Tanelorn... (1962)
  • The Last Enchantment (1978, also known as "Jesting with Chaos")
  • The Greater Conqueror (1963)
  • Master of Chaos (1964, also known as "Earl Aubec")
  • Phase 1 (1969)
  • The Singing Citadel (1967)
  • The Jade Man's Eyes (1973)
  • The Stone Thing (1974)
  • Elric at the End of Time (1981)
  • The Black Blade's Song (1994, also known as "The White Wolf's Song" and "The Black Blade’s Summoning")
  • Crimson Eyes (1994)
  • Sir Milk-and-Blood (1996)
  • The Roaming Forest (2006)

“Moorcock’s writing is intricate, fabulous, and mellifluous. Reading his words I was, and am, reminded of music. His novels are symphonic experiences. They dance and cry and bleed and make promises that can live only in the moment of their utterance.” –from the Foreword by Walter Mosley, New York Times bestselling author of Blonde Faith and Devil in a Blue Dress

Elric of Melniboné. The name is like a magic spell, conjuring up the image of an albino champion and his cursed, vampiric sword, Stormbringer. Elric, the last emperor of a cruel and decadent race, rogue and adventurer, hero and murderer, lover and traitor, is mystery and paradox personified – a timeless testament to the creative achievement of Michael Moorcock, the most significant fantasy writer since Tolkien.

Now comes the second in this definitive series of Elric volumes. Gorgeously illustrated by acclaimed artist Michael Wm. Kaluta and including a new Introduction by Michael Moorcock, this collection features, along with Elric, such renowned characters as Erekosë, Rackhir the Red Archer, and Count Renark von Bek. Readers will delight in adventures that include “To Rescue Tanelorn...,” “Master of Chaos,” “The Singing Citadel,” “The Black Blade’s Song,” and the novella version of “The Eternal Champion.”

Elric: To Rescue Tanelorn is essential reading for every fantasy fan and provides indelible proof – if any was needed – of the genius of Michael Moorcock.

“The most significant UK author of sword and sorcery, a form he has both borrowed from and transformed.”
–The Encyclopedia of Fantasy

updated 2017-01-18

Other books you might like

The Girl with Red Hair (The Last War Saga, #1)The City of Thieves (Warden of Fál, #3)The Heart of MagicDaughter of SorrowsThe Remembered (The Druid's Guise, #3)
Online 45 visitors
Newest member: Kurt Larsen
Total members: 6280