Worlds of the Golden Queen
Avg rating 3.00
3.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

Worlds of the Golden Queen

by David Farland
Release date: June 2005
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction

An omnibus of novels.

  • The Golden Queen (1994)
  • Beyond the Gate (1995)

Originally published as two books, Worlds of the Golden Queen is a stellar tale of love, adventure, sacrifice, and war set in a fantastic future.

In the first novel, The Golden Queen, the insectoid Dronons have slain the human queen Semarritte, thowing into chaos the ten thousand worlds over which she reigned. Desperate to save mankind, Lord Veriasse, her near-immortal consort, has created a new queen: Everynne, cloned from the dead original. Hotly pursued, Everynne falls in with cocky bodyguard Gallen O'Day; the pious Orick, an intelligent black bear; and the beautiful orphan Maggie Flynn.

With Gallen and the others newly sworn to her service, the young queen begins the great struggle against the aliens. Leaping from world to world via an ancient system of instantaneous transport gates, the heroes face terrible dangers and great wonders as they seek the heart of the dronon worlds, carrying the battle straight to the enemy.

In the second novel, Beyond the Gate, Maggie Flynn has become, by test of combat, the new Golden Queen. Gallen, Maggie, and Orick face an attack by Dronons on a planet where humans have achieved the pinnacle of genetic engineering. They must stop them while guarding the secret of Maggie's whereabouts, for she is only the Golden Queen until her champion, Gallen, is defeated by a Dronon challenger. In the midst of a slam-bang story, Farland raises and examines deep questions of humanity's definition and identity.

updated 2010-09-07

Other books you might like

Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky trilogy, #3)Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected FictionThe InheritanceThe Quantum Thief (Jean le Flambeur, #1)A Million Suns (Across the Universe Trilogy, #2)

Reviews (1)

Seregil of Rhiminee avatar
Written by
David Farland's Worlds of the Golden Queen consists of two books: The Golden Queen and Beyond the Gate. Worlds of the Golden Queen is a readable science fiction book, but it's not as good as The Runelords saga. I liked this book, but it wasn't an excellent book. If you like David Farland, you'll probably like this book.
Online 46 visitors
Newest member: Alan
Total members: 5795