Smart Dragons, Foolish Elves - Martin H. Greenberg, Alan Dean Foster

Smart Dragons, Foolish Elves is an anthology of 18 humorous fantasy stories with an introduction and an afterword by Alan Dean Foster.


  • Introduction by Alan Dean Foster
  • As Is by Robert Silverberg
  • The Same to You Doubled by Robert Sheckley
  • The Egg of the Glak by Harvey Jacobs
  • Beibermann's Soul by Mike Resnick
  • Thimgs by Theodore R. Cogswell
  • Ms. Lipshutz and the Goblin by Marvin Kaye
  • Unferno by George Alec Effinger
  • Unicorn Variation by Roger Zelazny
  • Yes Sir, That's My by Daniel P. Dern
  • Please Stand By by Ron Goulart
  • Bottle Party by John Collier
  • My Mother Was a Witch by William Tenn (nonfiction)
  • Djinn, No Chaser by Harlan Ellison
  • Up the Wall by Esther M. Friesner
  • Trouble with Water by Horace L. Gold
  • Savage Breasts by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
  • Or the Grasses Grow by Avram Davidson
  • Snulbug by Anthony Boucher
  • Afterword by Alan Dean Foster
Rate this book

Release date: 1977
Genres: fantasy, anthology
Updated: August 13, 2021