First Meetings - Orson Scott Card6.00

Also known as First Meetings in the Enderverse and First Meetings in Ender's Universe.

When ”Ender's Game” was first published as a novella twenty-five years ago, few would have predicted that it would become one of the most successful ventures in publishing history. Expanded into a novel in 1985, Ender's Game won both the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award for Best Novel. Never out of print and translated into dozens of languages, it is the rare work of fiction that can truly be said to have transcended a genre. Ender's Game and its sequels have won dozens of prestigious awards and are as popular today among teens and young readers as among adults.

First Meetings is a collection of three novellas – plus the original ”Ender's Game” – that journey into the origins and the destiny of one Ender Wiggin.

”The Polish Boy” begins in the years between the first two Bugger Wars when the Hegemony is desperate to recruit brilliant military commanders to repel the alien invasion. In John Paul Wiggin – the future father of Ender – they believe they may have found their man. Or boy.

In ”Teacher's Pest” – a novella written especially for this collection – a brilliant but insufferably arrogant John Paul Wiggin, now an American university student, matches wits with an equally brilliant graduate student named Theresa Brown.

It is many years since the end of the Bugger War in ”The Investment Counselor.” Ender's reputation as a hero and savior has suffered a horrible reversal. Banished from Earth and slandered as a mass murderer, twenty-year-old Andrew Wiggin wanders incognito from planet to planet as a fugitive – until a blackmailing tax inspector compromises his identity and threatens to expose Ender the Xenocide.

Also reprinted here is the original landmark novella, ”Ender's Game,” which first appeared in 1977.

Fully illustrated, First Meetings is Orson Scot Card writing at the height of his considerable powers about his most compelling character.

Rate this book

Release date: 2002
Genres: science fiction, short stories
Average rating: 6.00/10
Total ratings: 3
Updated: September 07, 2010

Ender :: Series

The Ender\'s Game Series (or Ender Series), a series of science fiction books by Orson Scott Card.

Belongs to the series Enderverse

Ender's Game (Ender #1)8.58
Speaker for the Dead (Ender #2)7.96
Xenocide (Ender #3)7.20
Children of the Mind (Ender #4)6.80
First Meetings6.00
A War of Gifts
Ender in Exile6.66