An Autumn War (The Long Price Quartet #3) - Daniel Abraham9.28

In the first two novels of the Long Price Quartet, Daniel Abraham took readers to a fascinating world both hauntingly familiar in its social and political dynamics. Poised between a medieval society as seen in the cities of the Khaiem and the technology-driven, militarily ambitious empire that threatens to destroy it, the world, as seen through the eyes of Otah Machi, is full of potential for magic and humanistic achievement... and for catastrophic disaster.

Otah, unlike most citizens of the Khaiate cities, understands the precipice on which his world is balanced. Machi and the other cities have no physical defenses or standing army. They rely on the magical andat – created beings with magical powers that can destroy any invading force. The andat have protected the cities of the Khaiem for generations, but all that is about to change.

For centuries the Galtic Empire has looked hungrily upon the riches of the Khaiem. But because of the threat of the vast powers of the andat, Galt has never dared attack. Enter Balasar Gice, ruthless general of the Galtic Army, who understands the power of the andat and is obsessed with preventing them from wreaking terrible destruction on the world, as has happened in centuries past. And now General Gice has a secret weapon that if employed would leave the Khaiem open to complete annihilation.

With the Galtic Army fast approaching, Otah Machi must rally the Khaiate cities and quickly raise an army. It will take a great deal of persuasion to get all the cities to accept a common leader, but if they do not soon form a unified front, there will be nothing to stop the Galts from sweeping down upon them in a vast, devouring horde.

"The first two books impressed me, but An Autumn War surpassed them, leaving me stunned and wondering where Abraham will take me in the fourth book." – Patrick Rothfuss, bestselling author of The Name of the Wind

Rate this book

Release date: July 17, 2008
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 9.28/10
Total ratings: 7
Updated: August 13, 2021

The Long Price Quartet :: Series

Daniel Abraham’s classic Long Price Quartet is groundbreaking unique fantasy of rare power and originality.  The aggressively expansionist Galt empire has already conquered lands across a huge continent But the cities of the Khaiem resist Galt’s power with the andat - creatures of magic with godlike powers Political intrigue and deep treachery combine to shift the balance of power in a world of ancient empires and immortal magics. This unforgettable fantasy epic series starting with A Shadow in Summer marks Daniel Abraham as a unique voice and one of the most enthralling fantasy writers to emerge in recent years.

Related series The Long Price (omnibus editions)

A Shadow in Summer (The Long Price Quartet #1)7.50
A Betrayal in Winter (The Long Price Quartet #2)8.42
An Autumn War (The Long Price Quartet #3)9.28
The Price of Spring (The Long Price Quartet #4)9.66