The Ivory and the Horn

Charles de Lint
fantasy > urban fantasy, short stories
The Ivory and the Horn - Charles de Lint

World Fantasy Award: Best Collection nominee (1996).

The Ivory and the Horn: A Newford Collection

Among Charles de Lint's most beloved creations is the northern city of Newford, a place touched by deep magic – and the setting for novels like The Onion Girl and story collections like Dreams Underfoot. Now, with the Orb publication of The Ivory and the Horn, all four of the Newford story collections are returned to print. Here, on the streets of Newford, is the magic that hovers at the edge of everyday life.


  • Waifs and Strays
  • Mr. Truepenny’s Book Emporium and Gallery
  • The Forest Is Crying
  • The Wishing Well
  • Dead Man’s Shoes
  • Bird Bones and Wood Ash
  • A Tempest in Her Eyes
  • Saxophone Joe and the Woman in Black
  • The Bone Woman
  • Pal o’ Mine
  • Where Desert Spirits Crowd the Night
  • Dream Harder, Dream True
  • The Pochade Box
  • Coyote Stories
  • The Forever Trees
Rate this book

Release date: 1995
Genres: fantasyurban fantasy, short stories
Average rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: August 17, 2021

Newford :: Series

Related series Moonheart

The Dreaming Place
Ghosts of Wind and Shadow
Uncle Dobbin's Parrot Fair
Our Lady of the Harbour
From a Whisper to a Scream
The Wishing Well
Dreams Underfoot
I'll Be Watching You
Memory and Dream
The Ivory and the Horn
Someplace to Be Flying
Moonlight and Vines
Forests of the Heart
The Onion Girl
Seven Wild Sisters
Tapping the Dream Tree
Spirits in the Wires
Medicine Road
The Blue Girl
Promises to Keep
Old Man Crow
Muse and Reverie
The Wind in His Heart