The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg Volume Four: Trips

Robert Silverberg
science fiction, short stories
The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg Volume Four: Trips (The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg #4) - Robert Silverberg

The stories here, all of them written between March of 1972 and November of 1973, mark a critical turning point in my career. Those who know the three earlier volumes have traced my evolution from a capable journeyman, very young and as much concerned with paying the rent as he was to advancing the state of the art, into a serious, dedicated craftsman now seeking to leave his mark on science fiction in some significant way. Throughout the decade of the 1960s I had attempted to grow and evolve within the field of writing I loved – building on the best that went before me, the work of Theodore Sturgeon and James Blish and Cyril Kornbluth and Jack Vance and Philip K. Dick and half a dozen others whose great stories had been beacons beckoning me onward – and then, as I reached my own maturity, now trying to bring science fiction along with me into a new realm of development, hauling it along even farther out of its pulp-magazine origins toward what I regarded as a more resonant and evocative kind of visionary storytelling.

– Robert Silverberg, from his introduction


  • Introduction
  • In the Group
  • Getting Across
  • Ms. Found in an Abandoned Time Machine
  • The Science Fiction Hall of Fame
  • A Sea of Faces
  • The Dybbuk of Mazel Tov IV
  • Breckenridge and the Continuum
  • Capricorn Games
  • Ship-Sister, Star-Sister
  • This is the Road
  • Trips
  • Born with the Dead
  • D.V. Perrot: Teach Yourself Swahili
  • Schwartz Between the Galaxies
  • In the House of Double Minds
Rate this book

Release date: May 30, 2009
Genres: science fiction, short stories
Updated: September 04, 2021