The Difference Engine
Avg rating 3.00
3.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (2)

The Difference Engine

by Bruce Sterling, William Gibson
Release date: 1990
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, alternate historysteampunk

John W. Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee 1992, Nebula Best Novel nominee 1991.

1855: The Industrial Revolution is in full and inexorable swing, powered by steam-driven cybernetic Engines. Charles Babbage perfects his Analytical Engine and the computer age arrives a century ahead of its time. And three extraordinary characters race toward a rendezvous with history – and the future:
Sybil Gerard – a fallen woman, politician’s tart, daughter of a Luddite agitator
Edward “Leviathan” Mallory – explorer and paleontologist
Laurence Oliphant – diplomat, mystic, and spy.
Their adventure begins with the discovery of a box of punched Engine cards of unknown origin and purpose. Cards someone wants badly enough to kill for…
Part detective story, part historical thriller, The Difference Engine is the collaborative masterpiece by two of the most acclaimed science fiction authors writing today.  Provocative, compelling, intensely imagined, it is a startling extension of Gibson’s and Sterling’s unique visions – and the beginning of movement we know today as “steampunk!”

updated 2017-01-20

Other books you might like

Pandora's Star (The Commonwealth Saga, #1)Dark Intelligence (Transformation, #1)The Best of H. P. Lovecraft: Bloodcurdling Tales of Horror and the MacabreInto the ForestThe Doom That Came to Sarnath and Other Stories
Online 45 visitors
Newest member: muhammad yamin
Total members: 6480