The Forest House (Avalon, #2)
Avg rating 2.90
2.90 stars
Give rating

Ratings (54)

The Forest House

by Marion Zimmer Bradley
Release date: 1993
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhistorical fantasy
Tags: arthuriana

With Diana L. Paxson. Also known as The Forests of Avalon.

The Forest House — prequel to The Mists of Avalon, Marion Zimmer Bradley’s beloved and enduring classic — is a mesmerizing epic of one woman’s mythic role at a turning point in history. In a Britain struggling to survive Roman invasion, Eilan is the daughter of a Druidic warleader, gifted with visions and marked by fate to become a priestess of the Forest House.

But fate also led Eilan to Gaius, a soldier of mixed blood, son of the Romans sent to subdue the native British. For Gaius, Eilan felt forbidden love, and her terrible secret will haunt her even as she is anointed as the new High Priestess. With mighty enemies poised to destroy the magic the Forest House shelters, Eilan must trust in the power of the great Goddess to lead her through the treacherous labyrinth of her destiny.

updated 2016-11-30

Other books you might like

Harley Merlin and the Challenge of Chaos (Harley Merlin, #8)Excalibur Reigning (Metal & Lace, #3)Harley Merlin and the Cult of Eris (Harley Merlin, #6)Harley Merlin and the First Ritual (Harley Merlin, #4)Camelot Burning (Metal & Lace, #1)

Reviews (1)

Seregil of Rhiminee avatar
Written by
The Forest House is the second book of the Avalon series. Unfortunately The Forest House isn't as good as The Mists of Avalon. In my opinion The Forest House is readable, but it's not on the same level as The Mists of Avalon. This book was a disappointment. That's why I have to say that if you liked The Mists of Avalon and think that this book is going to be just like it, you'll be disappointed.
Online 25 visitors
Newest member: Lugia - 2000
Total members: 5721