The Guizer

Alan Garner
fantasy, childrens, short stories
The Guizer - Alan Garner

A collection of stories about fools drawn from American Indian, African, Irish, Gypsy, Sumatran, Flemish, and British sources.


  • The Beginning
  • Chulyen
  • The Smart Man and the Fool
  • Spider Stories
  • The Astick Cuckoo
  • Happy Boz'll
  • The Cow that Ate the Piper
  • The Lad of the Skin Coverings
  • Finn's Journey to Lochlan
  • The Smith's Rock in the Isle of Skye
  • Tondi
  • Leza the Besetting One
  • Turncoat
  • The Astick Pool
  • Bobby Rag
  • The Big Stone
  • Sir Halewyn
  • The Astick Barn
  • The Clerk of Barthomley
  • Robin Good-fellow
  • Under the Earth I Go
  • Maui-of-a-Thousand-Tricks
  • Maui and Death
  • The Young Man, the Lion, and the Yellow-Flowered Zwart-Storm Tree
  • The Red King and the Witch
  • Foka
  • I'll have the Whetstone
  • Hare
Rate this book

Release date: 1975
Genres: fantasy, childrens, short stories
Updated: August 13, 2021
Other books by Alan Garner
The Weirdstone of Brisingamen
The Moon of Gomrath (The Weirdstone Trilogy #2)
The Old Man of Mow
The Owl Service6.04
A Book of Goblins
Red Shift
The Breadhorse
The Stone Book
Tom Fobble's Day (Stone Book #2)
Granny Reardun (Stone Book #3)
The Aimer Gate (Stone Book #4)
The Three Golden Heads of the Well
The Princess and the Golden Mane
Alan Garner's Fairy Tales of Gold
The Lad of the Gad
The Stone Book Quartet
Alan Garner's Book of British Fairy Tales
A Bag of Moonshine
Jack and the Beanstalk
Once Upon a Time
The Little Red Hen
The Well of the Wind
Grey Wolf, Prince Jack and the Firebird
Boneland (The Weirdstone Trilogy #3)