Avg rating 3.38
3.38 stars
Give rating

Ratings (4)


by Anne Rice
Release date: 1998
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: horror
Tags: vampires

Anne Rice, creator of the Vampire Lestat, the Mayfair witches and the amazing worlds they inhabit, now gives us the first in a new series of novels linked together by the fledgling vampire David Talbot, who has set out to become a chronicler of his fellow Undead.

The novel opens in present-day Paris in a crowded café, where David meets Pandora. She is two thousand years old, a Child of the Millennia, the first vampire ever made by the great Marius. David persuades her to tell the story of her life.

Pandora begins, reluctantly at first and then with increasing passion, to recount her mesmerizing tale, which takes us through the ages, from Imperial Rome to eighteenth-century France to twentieth-century Paris and New Orleans. She carries us back to her mortal girlhood in the world of Caesar Augustus, a world chronicled by Ovid and Petronius. This is where Pandora meets and falls in love with the handsome, charismatic, lighthearted, still-mortal Marius. This is the Rome she is forced to flee in fear of assassination by conspirators plotting to take over the city. And we follow her to the exotic port of Antioch, where she is destined to be reunited with Marius, now immortal and haunted by his vampire nature, who will bestow on her the Dark Gift as they set out on the fraught and fantastic adventure of their two turbulent centuries together.

updated 2017-01-16

Other books you might like

Alone (Vampires and the Life of Erin Rose, #2)Yasamin (Daughters of Shadow and Blood, #1)The Dark Arts of Blood (Blood Wine, #4)Hope (Vampires and the Life of Erin Rose, #4)A Limitless Policy (Samuel the Vampire, #1)
Online 35 visitors
Newest member: Sophia Chi
Total members: 6446