Christmas Books

by Charles Dickens
Release date: 1852
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy

A collection of Christmas books by Charles Dickens.

Ebenezer Scrooge is a bad-tempered skinflint who hates Christmas and all it stands for, but a ghostly visitor foretells three apparitions who will thaw Scrooge's frozen heart. A Christmas Carol has gripped the public imagination since it was first published in 1843, and it is now as much a part of Christmas as mistletoe or plum pudding. This edition reprints the story alongside Dickens's four other Christmas Books: The Chimes, The Cricket on the Hearth, The Battle of Life, and The Haunted Man. All five stories show Dickens at his unpredictable best, jumbling together comedy and melodrama, genial romance and urgent social satire, in pursuit of his aim "to awaken some loving and forbearing thoughts, never out of season in a Christian land."


  • A Christmas Carol (A Christmas Carol in Prose)
  • The Chimes (The Chimes: A Goblin Story of Some Bells That Rang an Old Year Out and a New Year In)
  • The Cricket on the Hearth
  • The Battle of Life
  • The Haunted Man and the Ghost's Bargain
(updated 2010-09-07)

Other books you might like

Sapphire Blue (The Ruby Red Trilogy, #2)Sins of the Heart (Otherkin, #1)Gods and Warriors (Gods and Warriors, #1)Saga: Volume One (Saga, #1)Assassin's Fate (Fitz and the Fool, #3)
Online 39 visitors
Newest member: Roope Kiiski
Total members: 5205