Twilight of Avalon

by Anna Elliott
Release date: May 5, 2009
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhistorical fantasy, romance
Tags: arthuriana

Twilight of Avalon: A Novel of Trystan and Isolde.

Book One in the Twilight of Avalon Trilogy

She is a healer, a storyteller, a warrior, and a queen without a throne. In the shadow of King Arthur's Britain, one woman knows the truth that could save a kingdom from the hands of a tyrant...

Ancient grudges, old wounds, and the quest for power rule in the newly widowed Queen Isolde's court. Hardly a generation after the downfall of Camelot, Isolde grieves for her slain husband, King Constantine, a man she secretly knows to have been murdered by the scheming Lord Marche – the man who has just assumed his title as High King. Though her skills as a healer are renowned throughout the kingdom, in the wake of Con's death, accusations of witchcraft and sorcery threaten her freedom and her ability to bring Marche to justice. Burdened by their suspicion and her own grief, Isolde must conquer the court's distrust and superstition to protect her throne and the future of Britain.

One of her few allies is Trystan, a prisoner with a lonely and troubled past. Neither Saxon nor Briton, he is unmoved by the political scheming, rumors, and accusations swirling around the fair queen. Together they escape, and as their companionship turns from friendship to love, they must find a way to prove what they know to be true – that Marche's deceptions threaten not only their lives but the sovereignty of the British kingdom.

In Twilight of Avalon, Anna Elliott returns to the roots of the legend of Trystan and Isolde to shape a very different story – one based in the earliest written versions of the Arthurian tales – a captivating epic brimming with historic authenticity, sweeping romance, and the powerful magic of legend.

(updated 2015-02-03)

Other books you might like

Moon Craving (Children of the Moon, #2)The Double Life of Incorporate Things (Magic Most Foul, #3)Sunrise of Avalon (Twilight of Avalon Trilogy, #3)The Well of Shades (The Bridei Chronicles, #3)Daughter of the Forest (The Sevenwaters Trilogy, #1)
Online 60 visitors
Newest member: Annaika Manu
Total members: 5291