The Once and Future King
Avg rating 3.25
3.25 stars
Give rating

Ratings (20)

The Once and Future King

by T. H. White
Release date: 1958
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasy

The whole world knows and loves this book. It is the magical epic of King Arthur and his shining Camelot; of Merlyn and Owl and Guinevere; of beasts who talk and men who fly; of wizardry and war. It is the book of all things lost and wonderful and sad. It is the fantasy masterpiece by which all others are judged.

T. H. White's masterful retelling of the Arthurian legend is an abiding classic. The Once and Future King, contains four books about the early life of King Arthur (The Sword in the Stone, The Witch in the Wood, The Ill-Made Knight and The Candle in the Wind). Exquisite comedy offsets the tradegy of Arthur's personal doom as White brings to life the major British epic of all time with brilliance, grandeur, warmth and charm.

The Once and Future King is divided into four parts:

  • The Sword in the Stone (1938)
  • The Queen of Air and Darkness (aka The Witch in the Wood, 1939)
  • The Ill-Made Knight (1940)
  • The Candle in the Wind (1958)
updated 2017-01-16

Other books you might like

Fading Echoes (Warriors: Omen of the Stars, #2)Rogue (The Talon Saga, #2)Red CountryCity of Dragons (The Rain Wild Chronicles, #3)The Darkest Lie (Lords of the Underworld, #6)
Online 24 visitors
Newest member: Nene Adjartey Kwashi Dorson
Total members: 5809