The Glass Bead Game

Hermann Hesse
The Glass Bead Game - Hermann Hesse

The Glass Bead Game is also known as Magister Ludi.

Original title: Das Glasperlenspiel (1943).

The final novel of Hermann Hesse, for which he won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1946, The Glass Bead Game is a fascinating tale of the complexity of modern life as well as a classic of modern literature.

Set in the 23rd century, The Glass Bead Game is the story of Joseph Knecht, who has been raised in Castalia, the remote place his society has provided for the intellectual elite to grow and flourish. Since childhood, Knecht has been consumed with mastering the Glass Bead Game, which requires a synthesis of aesthetics and scientific arts, such as mathematics, music, logic, and philosophy, which he achieves in adulthood, becoming a Magister Ludi (Master of the Game).

Rate this book

Release date: 1969
Genres: fantasy
Updated: August 17, 2021
Other books by Hermann Hesse
Strange News from Another Star and Other Tales
Pictor's Metamorphoses and Other Fantasies
The Fairy Tales of Hermann Hesse