Avg rating 4.50
4.50 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)


by George R. R. Martin, Gardner Dozois
Release date: March 14, 2010
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, anthology, mainstream
Tags: locus award

Edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois.

Locus Award for Best Anthology 2011.

George R. R. Martin, from his introduction to Warriors:

“People have been telling stories about warriors for as long as they have been telling stories. Since Homer first sang the wrath of Achilles and the ancient Sumerians set down their tales of Gilgamesh, warriors, soldiers, and fighters have fascinated us; they are a part of every culture, every literary tradition, every genre. All Quiet on the Western Front, From Here to Eternity, and The Red Badge of Courage have become part of our literary canon, taught in classrooms all around the country and the world.

Our contributors make up an all-star lineup of award-winning and bestselling writers, representing a dozen different publishers and as many genres. We asked each of them for the same thing — a story about a warrior. Some chose to write in the genre they’re best known for. Some decided to try something different. You will find warriors of every shape, size, and color in these pages, warriors from every epoch of human history, from yesterday and today and tomorrow, and from worlds that never were. Some of the stories will make you sad, some will make you laugh, and many will keep you on the edge of your seat.”

Every story in this volume appears here for the first time. Included are a long novella from the world of his Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin, a new tale of Lord John by Diana Gabaldon, an Emberverse story by S. M. Stirling, a Forever Peace story by Joe Haldeman, and a long tale of humanity at bay by David Weber. Also present are original tales by David Ball, Peter S. Beagle, Lawrence Block, Gardner Dozois, Robin Hobb, Cecelia Holland, Joe R. Lansdale, David Morrell, Naomi Novik, James Rollins, Steven Saylor, Robert Silverberg, Carrie Vaughn, Howard Waldrop, and Tad Williams. Many of these writers are bestsellers. All of them are storytellers of the highest quality. Together they make a volume of unforgettable reading.

  • Introduction: "Stories from the Spinner Rack," by George R. R. Martin
  • "The King of Norway," by Cecilia Holland
  • "Forever Bound," by Joe Haldeman
  • "The Triumph," by Robin Hobb
  • "Clean Slate," by Lawrence Block
  • "And Ministers of Grace," by Tad Williams
  • "Soldierin'," by Joe Lansdale
  • "Dirae," by Peter S. Beagle
  • "The Custom of the Army," by Diana Gabaldon
  • "Seven Years from Home," by Naomi Novik
  • "The Eagle and the Rabbit," by Steven Saylor
  • "The Pit," by James Rollins
  • "Out of the Dark," by David Weber
  • "The Girls from Avenger," by Carrie Vaughn
  • "Ancient Ways," by S. M. Stirling
  • "Ninieslando" by Howard Waldrop
  • "Recidivist" by Gardner Dozois
  • "My Name is Legion," by David Morrell
  • "Defenders of the Frontier," by Robert Silverberg
  • "The Scroll," by David Ball
  • "The Mystery Knight: A Tale of the Seven Kingdoms," by George R. R. Martin
updated 2017-01-21

Other books you might like

The Best of Michael MoorcockBlack GlassLondon BoneThe Swan BookEndangered Species
Online 64 visitors
Newest member: Maryam Musayeva
Total members: 6298