Occultation and Other Stories
Avg rating 5.00
5.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

Occultation and Other Stories

by Laird Barron
Release date: May 2010
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: horrorweird fiction, short stories

Jacket art by Matthew Jaffe.

Laird Barron has emerged as one of the strongest voices in modern horror and dark fantasy fiction, building on the eldritch tradition pioneered by writers such as H. P. Lovecraft, Peter Straub, and Thomas Ligotti. His stories have garnered critical acclaim and been reprinted in numerous year's best anthologies and nominated for multiple awards, including the Crawford, International Horror Guild, Shirley Jackson, Theodore Sturgeon, and World Fantasy Awards. His debut collection, The Imago Sequence and Other Stories, was the inaugural winner of the Shirley Jackson Award.

He returns with his second collection, Occultation. Pitting ordinary men and women against a carnivorous, chaotic cosmos, Occultation's eight tales of terror (two never before published) include the Theodore Sturgeon and Shirley Jackson Award-nominated story "The Forest" and Shirley Jackson Award nominee "The Lagerstätte." Featuring an introduction by Michael Shea, Occultation brings more of the spine-chillingly sublime cosmic horror Laird Barron's fans have come to expect.


  • Introduction by Michael Shea
  • The Forest
  • Occultation
  • The Lagerstätte
  • Mysterium Tremendum (original to this collection)
  • Catch Hell
  • Strappado
  • The Broadsword
  • --30-- (original to this collection)
  • Six Six Six (original to this collection)
(updated 2015-01-06)

Other books you might like

SacculinaThe Doll's AlphabetSherlock Holmes vs. Cthulhu: The Adventure of the Neural Psychoses (Sherlock Holmes vs. Cthulhu, #2)Shadows & Tall Trees: Issue 4 (Shadows & Tall Trees, #4)Milton's Children
Online 44 visitors
Newest member: Jamie Hollensbe
Total members: 5156