Shriek: An Afterword

by Jeff VanderMeer
Shriek: An Afterword (Ambergris Cycle #2) - Jeff VanderMeer 8.00   1

Narrated with flamboyant intensity by one-time society figure Janice Shriek, and presenting a vivid gallery of strange characters and even stranger events, this is an account of the adventures of her brother Duncan, a historian obsessed with a doomed love affair and a dark secret that may kill or transform him.

It involves, too, a war between rival publishing houses which threatens to change Ambergris forever, and rivalry with a marginalised race known as the ”grey caps” who, armed with advanced fungal technologies, wait underground for their chance to recover the city that was once theirs. This story of the family, ”Shriek” is an exotic and colourful novel of love, life and death which brings to fruition the author's genius for capturing the truly weird.

Category: Fantasy New weird

Release date 2006

Details updated August 13, 2021

Rate this book
Choose a shelf for this book

Ambergris Cycle :: Series

Series contains 3 primary works and has 3 total works.

City of Saints and Madmen (Ambergris Cycle #1) 8.10   81
Shriek: An Afterword (Ambergris Cycle #2) 8.00   1
Finch (Ambergris Cycle #3) 8.00   1

Community Reviews & Rates

Seregil of Rhiminee
Seregil of Rhiminee
3701 ratings
260 reviews
3594 posts
March 30, 2013
8 / 10
Gave rating to this book