Mythago Wood (Mythago Cycle #1) - Robert Holdstock7.54

World Fantasy Award 1985, British Science Fiction Association Award 1985.

Deep within the wildwood lies a place of myth and mystery, from which few return, and none remain unchanged.

Ryhope Wood may look like a three-mile-square fenced-in wood in rural Herefordshire on the outside, but inside, it is a primeval, intricate labyrinth of trees, impossibly huge, unforgettable... and stronger than time itself.

Stephen Huxley has already lost his father to the mysteries of Ryhope Wood. On his return from the Second World War, he finds his brother, Christopher, is also in thrall to the mysterious wood, wherein lies a realm where mythic archetypes grow flesh and blood, where love and beauty haunt your dreams, and in promises of freedom lies the sanctuary of insanity...

Rate this book

Release date: 1984
Genres: fantasy
Tags: bsfa award, world fantasy award
Average rating: 7.54/10
Total ratings: 117
Updated: August 23, 2021

Mythago Cycle :: Series

The Bone Forest
Mythago Wood (Mythago Cycle #1)7.54
Lavondyss (Mythago Cycle #2)7.48
The Hollowing (Mythago Cycle #3)7.22
Gate of Ivory, Gate of Horn (Mythago Cycle #4)7.36
Avilion (Mythago Cycle #5)7.00