The Bone Forest - Robert Holdstock

World Fantasy Award nominee 1992.

A collection of eight short stories set in a mystical wood features a snow woman, a scientist succumbing to an age-old madness, roaming demons, conjurers working their pagan magic, and more.

In the novella ‘The Bone Forest’ which forms the centrepiece of this outstanding collection, Holdstock goes back to the events preceding Mythago Wood. It is 1935, and two scientists, George Huxley and Edward Wynne-Jones, are attempting to map the wood and analyse the curious manifestations which they have christened ‘mythagos’. At the same time, Huxley’s obsession with his work threatens to alienate him from his family, and in particular his son Steven.


  • The Bone Forest (1991)
  • Thorn (1986)
  • The Shapechanger (1989)
  • The Boy who Jumped the Rapids (1984)
  • Time of the Tree (1989)
  • Magic Man (1976)
  • Scarrowfell (1987)
  • The Time Beyond Age (1976)
Rate this book

Release date: 1991
Genres: fantasy, short stories
Average rating: 8.00/10
Total ratings: 1
Updated: August 27, 2021

Mythago Cycle :: Series

The Bone Forest
Mythago Wood (Mythago Cycle #1)7.54
Lavondyss (Mythago Cycle #2)7.48
The Hollowing (Mythago Cycle #3)7.22
Gate of Ivory, Gate of Horn (Mythago Cycle #4)7.36
Avilion (Mythago Cycle #5)7.00