Unfinished Tales
Avg rating 3.87
3.87 stars
Give rating

Ratings (208)

Unfinished Tales

by J. R. R. Tolkien, Christopher Tolkien
Release date: 1980
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Tags: middle-earth, mythopoeic awards

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award 1981.

Unfinished Tales of Númenor and Middle-Earth is a collection of narratives ranging in time from the Elder Days of Middle-earth to the end of the War of the Ring, and provides those who have read The Lord of the Rings with a whole collection of background and new stories from the twentieth century’s most acclaimed popular author.

The book concentrates on the realm of Middle-earth and comprises such elements as Gandalf’s lively account of how it was that he came to send the Dwarves to the celebrated party at Bag-End, the emergence of the sea-god Ulmo before the eyes of Tuor on the coast of Beleriand, and an exact description of the military organization of the Riders of Rohan.

Unfinished Tales also contains the only story about the long ages of Númenor before its downfall, and all that is known about such matters as the Five Wizards, the Palantíri and the legend of Amroth. The tales were collated and edited by J. R. R. Tolkien’s son and literary heir, Christopher Tolkien, who provides a short commentary on each story, helping the reader to fill in the gaps and put each story into the context of the rest of his father’s writings.

updated 2017-01-15

Other books you might like

Antiagon Fire (Imager Portfolio, #7)Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha, #1)Bright ThronesThomasThe Soul Mirror (Novels of the Collegia Magica, #2)
Online 39 visitors
Newest member: Tilu
Total members: 5823