Amazing Science Fiction Anthology: The War Years 1936-1945
Avg rating 3.00
3.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

Amazing Science Fiction Anthology: The War Years 1936-1945

by Martin H. Greenberg
Release date: 1987
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, anthology

Edited by Martin H. Greenberg.

Robots always follow humans' orders. But is it for good or ill...? The ability to make a living duplicate of someone has real appeal. But can a duplicate be too perfect...? The problems on Earth can be avoided by sending people into space to found new homeland. But what happens to the generations born in the ships...? The human mind is a wondrous thing. But can it be shared with another species...?

These are among the questions that science fiction writers drew out of events in the War Years, the second decade of AMAZING Stories, the world's first and oldest science fiction magazine.

Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Ralph Milne Farley, Stanley Weinbaum, John Wyndham – these are among the great writers who first tested their ideas and talents during these years when life on Earth was so troubled.


  • Introduction by Isaac Asimov
  • Robot AL-76 Goes Astray by Isaac Asimov, 1941
  • Devolution by Edmond Hamilton, 1939
  • The Four-Sided Triangle by William F. Temple, 1939
  • The Voyage That Lasted 600 Years by Don Wilcox, 1940
  • Adam Link's Vengeance by Eando Binder, 1940
  • The Living Mist by Ralph Milne Farley, 1940
  • Phoney Meteor by John Wyndham, 1941
  • The Council of Drones by W. K. Sonnemann, 1936
  • Shifting Seas by Stanley G. Weinbaum, 1936
  • I, Rocket by Ray Bradbury, 1944
  • The Authors
(updated 2017-01-21)

Other books you might like

Divergent (Divergent, #1)Body Electric (Mystic City, #3)Ready Player OneThe Bone ClocksThe Time-Traveling Fashionista (The Time-Traveling Fashionista, #1)
Online 2 members and 52 visitors
Jussi, Elviira
Newest member: Grace Tydings
Total members: 5122