The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg Volume Five: The Palace at Midnight

Robert Silverberg
science fiction, short stories
The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg Volume Five: The Palace at Midnight (The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg #5) - Robert Silverberg

Somehow, for all my outward pretence of cold-eyed professionalism, all my insistence that writing is simply a job like any other, I’ve discovered to my surprise and chagrin that there’s more than that going on around here, that I write as much out of karmic necessity and some inescapable inner need to rededicate my own skills constantly to my — what? My craft? My art? My profession? I wrote these stories because the only way of earning a living I have ever had has been by writing, but mainly, I have to admit, I wrote these stories because I couldn’t not write them. Well, so be it. They involved me in a lot of hard work, but for me, at least, the results justify the toil. I’m glad I wrote them. Writing them, it turns out, was important for me, and even pleasurable, in a curiously complex after-the-fact kind of way. May they give you pleasure now too.

— Robert Silverberg, from his Introduction


  • Introduction
  • Our Lady of the Sauropods
  • Waiting for the Earthquake
  • The Regulars
  • The Far Side of the Bell-Shaped Curve
  • A Thousand Paces Along the Via Dolorosa
  • How They Pass the Time in Pelpel
  • The Palace at Midnight
  • The Man Who Floated in Time
  • Gianni
  • The Pope of the Chimps
  • Thesme and the Ghayrog
  • At the Conglomeroid Cocktail Party
  • The Trouble with Sempoanga
  • Jennifer’s Lover
  • Not Our Brother
  • Gate of Horn, Gate of Ivory
  • Dancers in the Time-Flux
  • Needle in a Timestack
  • Amanda and the Alien
  • Snake and Ocean, Ocean and Snake
  • The Changeling
  • Basileus
  • Homefaring
Rate this book

Release date: October 26, 2010
Genres: science fiction, short stories
Updated: August 30, 2021