The Moment of Eclipse

Brian Aldiss
science fiction, short stories
The Moment of Eclipse - Brian Aldiss

British Science Fiction Award winner 1971.


...and here Brian Aldiss proves it brilliantly in fourteen stories of devastating power. From outrageous satire to haunting fantasy, the renowned author of such science fiction classics as GREYBEARD, HOTHOUSE and the epic HELLICONIA TRILOGY displays his unmatched talent for creating tales that illuminate times-to-come with the disconcerting intensity of a cobalt bomb's heat-flash...


  • The Moment of Eclipse
  • The Day We Embarked for Cythera
  • Orgy of the Living and the Dying
  • Super-Toys Last All Summer Long
  • The Village Swindler
  • Down the Up Escalation
  • That Uncomfortable Pause Between Life and Art...
  • Confluence
  • Heresies of the Huge God
  • The Circulation of the Blood...
  • ...And the Stagnation of the Heart
  • The Worm That Flies
  • Working in the Spaceship Yards
  • Swastika!
Rate this book

Release date: 1971
Genres: science fiction, short stories
Tags: bsfa award
Updated: August 23, 2021
Other books by Brian Aldiss
Space, Time and Nathaniel
Vanguard from Alpha
The Canopy of Time
No Time Like Tomorrow
Bow Down to Nul
The Primal Urge
The Dark Light Years6.42
The Airs of Earth
Best SF Stories of Brian Aldiss
The Saliva Tree and Other Strange Growths
An Age
Report on Probability A
Barefoot in the Head
Neanderthal Planet
Intangibles Inc. and Other Stories
The Book of Brian Aldiss
Frankenstein Unbound
The Eighty-Minute Hour
The Malacia Tapestry6.34
Brothers of the Head
Last Orders
Enemies of the System
New Arrivals, Old Encounters
Moreau's Other Island
Foreign Bodies
Helliconia Spring7.86
Helliconia Summer (The Helliconia Trilogy #2)8.14
Seasons in Flight
Helliconia Winter (The Helliconia Trilogy #3)7.76
The Magic of the Past
Cracken at Critical4.76
Trillion Year Spree: The History of Science Fiction
A Romance of the Equator: Best Fantasy Stories
Dracula Unbound
A Tupolev Too Far and Other Stories
The Secret of This Book
White Mars
Super-Toys Last All Summer Long and Other Stories of Future Time
Sanity and the Lady
Cultural Breaks
Finches of Mars
The Invention of Happiness
The Complete Short Stories: Volume One: The 1950s
The Complete Short Stories: Volume Two: The 1960s - Part One (The Complete Short Stories #2)
The Complete Short Stories: Volume Three: The 1960s - Part Two (The Complete Short Stories #3)
The Complete Short Stories: Volume Four: The 1960s - Part Three (The Complete Short Stories #4)