The Sandman: Preludes and Nocturnes

Neil Gaiman
fantasy, horror, comics
The Sandman: Preludes and Nocturnes (The Sandman #1) - Neil Gaiman8.06

Collecting The Sandman #1–8, 1988–1989. Written by Neil Gaiman. Art by Sam Kieth, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcolm Jones III.

A wizard attempting to capture Death to bargain for eternal life traps her younger brother Dream instead. Fearful for his safety, the wizard kept him imprisoned in a glass bottle for decades. After his escape, Dream, also known as Morpheus, goes on a quest for his lost objects of power. On the way, Morpheus encounters Lucifer and demons from Hell, the Justice League, and John Constantine, the Hellblazer. This book also includes the story ”The Sound of Her Wings” which introduces us to the pragmatic and perky goth girl, Death.

Rate this book

Release date: 1989
Genres: fantasy, horror, comics
Average rating: 8.06/10
Total ratings: 53
Updated: August 24, 2021

The Sandman :: Series

The Sandman: Endless Nights7.72
The Absolute Sandman: Volume 18.36
The Absolute Sandman: Volume 29.34
The Absolute Sandman: Volume 39.00
The Absolute Sandman: Volume 49.00
The Sandman: Overture
The Sandman: Preludes and Nocturnes (The Sandman #1)8.06
The Sandman: The Doll's House (The Sandman #2)8.44
The Sandman: Dream Country (The Sandman #3)8.34
The Sandman: Season of Mists (The Sandman #4)8.60
The Sandman: A Game of You (The Sandman #5)8.54
The Sandman: Fables & Reflections (The Sandman #6)8.38
The Sandman: Brief Lives (The Sandman #7)8.00
The Sandman: Worlds' End (The Sandman #8)7.78
The Sandman: The Kindly Ones (The Sandman #9)8.56
The Sandman: The Wake (The Sandman #10)8.80


8/10 |
October 17, 2013
For many years I have wanted to read Gaiman's Sandman comic's and now I finally started. I regret so much that I didn't start sooner. Absolute pearl of comics this is. The story is intriguing and art marvelous. Can't wait to get my hands on the next part!