Deathbird Stories
Avg rating 3.00
3.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (1)

Deathbird Stories

by Harlan Ellison
Release date: 1975
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: science fiction, fantasy, short stories
Tags: bsfa award

Harlan Ellison, prolific and powerful writer for motion pictures and television, has been one of America's finest short story writers for more than fifty years.

Deathbird Stories is his most daring collection of dangerous visions, each tale a gem that peels back layers of human emotions to reveal a dark dream inspired by the madness that finds us in unprotected moments.

From the nightmare-stalking that inspires The Whimper of Whipped Dogs, to the glass-and-metal prison of Pretty Maggie Moneyeyes, as well as in seventeen other brilliant tales from the new pantheon of gods, Ellison paints incredibly vivid portraits of the human soul in all its infinite variety of torment and torture, courage and charisma.


  • The Face of Helene Bournouw
  • Paingod
  • Pretty Maggie Moneyeyes
  • Ernest and the Machine God
  • O Ye of Little Faith
  • Shattered Like a Glass Goblin
  • Rock God
  • The Place with No Name
  • Along the Scenic Route
  • At the Mouse Circus
  • Bleeding Stones
  • On the Downhill Side
  • Corpse
  • Basilisk
  • Neon
  • The Deathbird
  • Whimper of Whipped Dogs, the
  • Adrift Just Off the Islets of Langerhans: Latitude 38° 54’ N, Longitude 77° 00’ 13
updated 2017-01-18

Other books you might like

Black God: Volume 8 (Black God, #8)The Ramshead Algorithm and Other StoriesThe Quantum Magician (The Quantum Evolution, #1)WinterglassImmunity to Strange Tales
Online 41 visitors
Newest member: Dennis Wilson
Total members: 5903