The Fortress of Glass (The Crown of the Isles, #1)
Avg rating 3.00
3.00 stars
Give rating

Ratings (3)

The Fortress of Glass

by David Drake
Release date: 2006
Type: speculative fiction
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy

The Fortress of Glass is the first in the Crown of the Isles trilogy, which will conclude the epic Lord of the Isles series. A true trilogy, the action extends over the whole three-book arc.

The Fortress of Glass begins the story of how the new kingdom of the Isles is finally brought into being by the group of heroes and heroines who have been central to all the books in the series. The group includes Prince Garric, heir to the throne of the Isles, his consort Liane, his sister Sharina, her herculean sweetheart Cashel, his sister Ilna, with her adopted child Merota and piratical Chalcus. On giant triremes filled with soldiers and diplomats, they journey to the small kingdoms of the Isles to confirm the succession of Garric and to subdue, if necessary, any local rulers too fond of their own kingship to pledge fealty to Garric.

All this is being done in a time when the powers of magic in the Isles have flooded to a thousand-year peak, and even local magicians can perform powerful spells normally beyond their control. Fantastic forces from all angles try to keep them apart and unable to continue the reunification of the Isles. So separately and together, they must fight their way back to the same time and place to combat the mysterious and supernatural menace of The Green Woman in her Fortress of Glass.

updated 2017-01-17

Other books you might like

The Cursed Sea (Seventh Spare, #2)A Kingdom Besieged (The Chaoswar Saga, #1)The Emerald Blade (The Landkist Saga, #2)The Ahava Order (The Ahava Order, #1)The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn (Kingdom of Grit, #1)
Online 47 visitors
Newest member: Spaced_out
Total members: 5707