Forge of Darkness - Steven Erikson9.44

Now is the time to tell a tragic tale that sets the stage for all the tales yet to come... and all those already told.

It is the Age of Darkness and the ancient land called Kurald Galain - home of the Tiste Andii and ruled over by Mother Dark from her citadel in Kharkanas - is in a perilous state. For the commoners' great warrior hero, Vatha Urusander, is being championed by his followers to take Mother Dark's hand in marriage but her Consort, Lord Draconus, stands in the way of such ambition.

As the impending clash between these two rival powers sends fissures rippling across the realm and rumours of civil war flare and take hold amongst the people, so an ancient power emerges from seas once thought to be long dead. None can fathom its true purpose nor comprehend its potential. And caught in the middle of this seemingly inevitable conflagration are the First Sons of Darkness - Anomander, Andarist and Silchas Ruin of the Purake Hold - and they are about reshape the world...

Here begins Steven Erikson's epic tale of bitter family rivalries, of jealousies and betrayals, of wild magic and unfettered power... and of the forging of a sword.

Rate this book

Release date: July 25, 2012
Genres: fantasyhigh fantasy
Average rating: 9.44/10
Total ratings: 9
Updated: August 24, 2021

The Kharkanas Trilogy :: Series

The Kharkanas Trilogy takes place millennia before the events of the Malazan Book of the Fallen and introduces readers to Kurald Galain, the warren of Darkness. It is the epic story of a realm whose fate plays a crucial role in shaping the world of the Malazan Empire.

Belongs to the series Malazan World

Forge of Darkness9.44
Fall of Light (The Kharkanas Trilogy #2)8.34
Walk in Shadow (The Kharkanas Trilogy #3)9.06